Be a guest at a cattle ranch in Western Nebraska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 585 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    662

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family owned and operated cattle ranch in the beautiful sandhills of the Nebraska panhandle. We have had numerous foreign visitors before and enjoy getting to know people from different parts of the world. We really enjoy showing people this old western way of life and foreign workers seem especially eager to learn. "We" are my husband, myself and our son who is 12 years old. We are a cow/calf operation and do all our cattle work horseback. We raise about 1000 mama cows on approximately 12,000 acres. We are a ways from town so need someone who would like to learn the trade and not focused on getting to town to socialize. Any sex, color, religion, orientation is welcome, as long as you are willing to listen, remember and work hard. We have numerous animals to care for but most of the work is cattle related. For safety reasons, we need to have workawayers that have extensive riding experience. We do NOT have any horses for beginning riders. We also require that due to the nature of the work, you be fit and strong. The basic act of opening some of our gates requires strength and thought. Every season has different work for us. Summers require more yard work, planting trees and haying, while fall and spring require more horseback and cattle work. In the winter there is some riding but more work is done with a truck.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Most of our guests say that riding in such huge pastures is the highlight of their stay. The wide open spaces and beautiful landscapes are a unique experience that one won't soon forget. It's incredibly quiet here and sometimes you can hear the coal trains rumbling down the track 15 miles away.You'll always here coyotes in the evening, and if you're here during the spring and summer months, evening sounds are crickets, frogs, insects, nighthawks, owls, far off mooing, a gentle wind in the trees and the birds jostling around for the best spot in the nest. No light pollution and wide open spaces means that star gazing is the best.
    We never ask more than what we are willing to do, or rely on a workawayer to equal the work of an employee. We want to provide a safe learning experience for those who want to learn the ways of real cowboys.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    You might have the opportunity to learn to fence, move cattle, feed, drive tractors depending on the season, ride horses, work cattle through the chute, vaccinate, and all other general cattle work. In the summer might ask you for general lawn mowing and other gardening duties. You must have a valid drivers liscense in your country. We provide you food but you will have to prepare your own breakfasts and lunches and many times dinner as well. You might be asked to prepare a meal or two for the family during your stay (maybe a dish from your country)! Baking on a bad weather day is always a treat for us! Winter help is very different than summer help. We also have several young horses so if you are experienced in equine training, we would be interested in speaking with you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate bunkhouse just for workawayers but will never put more than two people in the house, unless you are traveling together and agree to sleep in the same double bed. There are two beds, two toilets and two sinks but one shower that must be shared. For this reason we avoid putting separate genders in the house together. I have wifi in the main house but access is limited due to purchased bandwidth. For this reason we ask that guests don't download or upload videos or a large amount of pictures from the ranch, and ask that you don't have video conversations. (skyping and such) You will have opportunities to use free wi-fi in town. We have no house pets, and are picky about cleaning up after yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would ask that you start with a month stay. Less than that is difficult to learn anything here, even getting to different pastures. We can possibly accomodate you much longer, if it works out between us and we don't have another workawayer coming. Mount Rushmore, (the faces) is approximately 2.5 hours from the ranch and most workawayers like to visit that and Crazyhorse Monument and Deadwood, South Dakota, as well as Rapid City, the Badlands, and Custer State Park, where bison roam free. Some of our workaways have rented a car and traveled to Yellowstone or the Rocky Mountains in Wyoming and Colorado.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 max per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 454683636665