Help me to improve different skills and explore Tenerife, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am @MaryCabralGuia. I am a Freelancer. I am an English Teacher, an Official Canarian Tourist Guide, and a Translator and Interpreter. Currently living in Santa Ursula, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. I offer my Guiding Services in 4 Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese and French. I also offer hiking guiding services as well as rock-climbing/abseiling monitoring. Born in London, but from a Portuguese background I was brought up in the south of England in a bilingual and very culturally rich and loving Portuguese, UK based family, that loves travelling. In my twenties I came to Tenerife with the idea of visiting the Canary Islands, Madeira and Azores before moving back to Cascais in Portugal. However 15 years on, and surprisingly to some, I am still on the largest island of the Canarian archipelago, Tenerife. Thanks to its ecclectic history where the not only the Spanish played a large part in the islands story, but also the Portuguese and English have also had a great influence on the Canary Islands over the centuries, and without a doubt the traces of my ancestors which are still here influenced me enabling me to settle happily here feeling at home speaking Canarian Spanish which has many Portuguese words and phrases which were adopted from the Portuguese carpenters and wine growers who passed through here. There have also been many interesting English visitors to the Canaries over the years also, including Olivia Stone, Agatha Christie and The Beatles and as a Tourist Guide when visitors come to enjoy Tenerife´s wonderful climate, it´s amazing natural spaces from its black sandy beaches on the coast, to its enchanted laurel forests unique to the Macaronesia, or its lunar landscapes in the Teide National Park, I enjoy telling my visitors the charming (hi)story of the island(s) and showing them how they are connected to these unique islands, even though they may be a tourist visiting for a short time from thousands of miles away. I offer people a personalised and historically and culturally rich experience when they come on a guided tour with me, whether we are going on a city-tour of the UNESCO world heritage old island capital or whether we are going on a hike to one of the beautiful massifs on the island to get in touch nature, understand the geological formation of the island(s) and discover local traditions. As I´m passionate about Yoga and even more so about Acroyoga and Thai massage, and dedicate plenty of time to my spiritual side, I also spend time guiding for associations who offer retreats for women who have suffered from cancer and need time to recover and heal in a beautiful place like Tenerife. So as you can see I love to adapt to your personal needs as a visitor and to make your visit to our beautiful island an unforgettable one whether you have come to recharge your batteries and need to take it easy whist learning about the local culture and history or whether you wish to experience something more challenging, whilst going on a hike in the national park or rock-climbing an eroded volcanic scoria cone at sunset.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers who visit me can learn all about the entire Canarian Archipelago as I am an official Canarian Tourist Guide and I speak English, French, Spanish and Portuguese fluently if someone would like to practice these languages, I rock-climb, hike and do yoga and acroyoga and practice Thai Massage. I am also involved in organising events in the local Acroyoga community here in the Canary Islands, in which travellers can participate in.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello I am Freelance Tourist Guide and Teacher and Translator by profession and I am a passionate, rock-climber, acrobat and acroyogui (I practice Acroyoga)

    I live in Tenerife and my work often means I have to travel to another island and so I often need help with taking care of my eldery dog and maintaining my garden whilst I´m off guiding in nature or on another island.

    I am also interested in an exchange for personal fitness training to improve my strength and acrobatic skills, another acroyogui to practice with would be a plus.

    I´m also learning Czech, so anyone who can help me learn is another skill im interested in improving.

    Finally, anyone who would be happy also doing some Social Media marketing work for me as a Freelancer and Website/Blog design work, I need help with these kind of freelancer responsibilities too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Czech: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    2 bed ground-floor flat with garden, 1 bathroom, separate kitchen and Loung/Dinning room. WIFI & TV. I am a person who tries to live off their own garden crops and I try to buy as little as possible, I don´t normally eat meat.
    Food and meals would be flexible due to my working arrangements, I personally live off a lot of Kefir, Kombucha, Sprouts, Live Food and Raw Food recipes and Im happy to come to a personal agreement depending on the traveller´s needs who is visiting me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    BUS Stop 2 min walk from my buidling. All shops and facilities are in walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park on the street outside my building if there is space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 451456354977