Room and Board in Exchange for Help with our farm and community near Springfield, Missouri


United States

Favourited 285 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Our Farm is a 20 acre peri- urban organic farm 4 miles north of Springfield, in southwest Missouri. Check out our video on youtube. We have a diverse operation, including pigs, chickens, turkeys, a 6,000 s.f. greenhouse, 5,000 s.f. of solar heated hoop houses, 3 acres of vegetables, a beginning orchard, forest, ponds, a small aquaponics system, etc. on our 20 acres. The farm is managed organically, meaning we focus on soil health, using compost, cover crops, and manure as our primary fertility sources, and avoid the use of synthetic pesticides and fertilizers. Our farm is located close enough to a metropolitan area that we get to host many tours a year, from beginning farmers to preschools, and education is a big part of the reason we do what we do. We believe that its important for eaters to re-connect with the source of their food, and that's what were here for. We sell our produce through our 100 member Community Supported Agriculture program, three grocery stores (Mama Jeans and Homegrown Food), an on-farm market, and The Farmers Market of The Ozarks. We have a large family with 10 kids, 5 of them biological and 5 of them adopted through foster care.

    Community is also a big part of what we do here on the farm; at any given time we have at least 3 families living on the farm, along with several single folks, young and old. In addition to these permanent residents, we host a number of guest workers and helpers through the season, including helpers from all over the world, interns and apprentices, and daily helpers from the Springfield metro area.

    We are currently looking for people interested in working along side us in the field to harvest vegetables for a 100 member CSA and several farmers markets, along with seeding, transplanting, weeding and pest control. Animal care including feeding, watering, fencing, butchering (poultry) and record keeping. Construction and tractor work to include construction of a hoop house, field renovation, cutting firewood, clearing trees, and animal housing. Marketing including our CSA (community supported agriculture) program, our on-farm produce stand and bedding plants, and several farmers markets a week. A Tiny House is currently under construction including "green" building techniques. And are always working on high tunnels, low tunnels or green houses.

    We have 9 kids so there is plenty of work inside as well as outside. We love to share our community, teach, and have fun while working and playing together. So let us know what you want and we will see how to work you in.

    Couples and families are welcome, depending on housing availability.

    We take helper year round, and love having you stay, learn and help. We have learned so much from our helper, it is a delight to think back at all the wonderful people we have gotten to know through this. We can pick you up, locally at the Springfield-Branson Regional airport, at the bus station, or we have had a few hitch hikers which we have picked up where ever they had been dropped off. Our longest helper was with us for about 3 years, and the shortest stay has been a few days, we find that 2 weeks gives you a chance to really understand what we are doing here, but we are flexible, and before we farmed, loved to travel, now we love that the world comes to us through our helper! We speak English. Nearby are a couple of lakes (we have boats and paddles available), we often take helpers with us on outdoor adventures including backpacking, canoeing, and whitewater, and you get to experience life in the Ozarks. We have 8 little girls, that can be quite the experience. We have a bike available if you want to ride around. If you need a special diet, please let us know before you come and we will try and accommodate. The number of visitors at a time depends of housing, but we love hosting you, and love what you bring to our family and community.

    Apprenticeships or internships are also a possibility

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family farm, with several families living and working on our land. We love to teach what we are doing, both raising vegetables, and in creating a caring community.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    construction, farming, renovations, green building, firewood cutting, farmers marketing, something new every day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a number of housing situations, long-term apprentice housing is in the lower story of the main farm house, with bath, kitchen, living room, and wifi. Summer short term housing when the house is full is in the Chateau, a two bedroom shack in the woods, with no electricity or running water; kitchen and bath facilities are in the farm house. Breakfast and supper are on your own, with full access to the farm house pantry, freezers, etc. Lunch is provided at the farm house, eating with our farm community. On occasion visitors stay in hammocks in the woods, in a tent or even in a travel trailer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Ozarks are a beautiful area of the country, with hills and valleys, creeks and rivers, forests and meadows. We love to help our visitors experience the out of doors, and we usually take at least one overnight outing per month, either backpacking, canoeing, rafting, or just camping.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

Ian and Erica, wwoofers, digging a big hole.
The Stuga, intern, wwoofer, or workaway housing.
veggies early march

Host ref number: 4499974184df