Come enjoy the mountains and help for a young family that is willing to welcome the volunteers in Dronero, Italy

  • Favourited 47 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi everybody!
    My name is Melissa, it is six years since I am heading a small inn with my husband in Maira Valley (Northern Italy).
    In the last period our work increased a lot and also our family. We have 2 babies: Venere (3 years old, and Diletta 1 year).
    We are needing someone who can help us with the tourists' reception also in foreign languages, with the general maintenance of our facilities, with the babysitting and in general with every kind of job that deals with our inn.
    Our inn is situated in the mountains, at 1200 meters above sea level, it is located in a beautiful green landscape and it is surrounded by woods and underbrush.
    Our place is the ideal for long walks, tours with the mountainbike and climbings.
    The only problem is that our inn isn't reachable with bus or public transportations in general, but we're available to take the workawayer at the nearest bus station and to give him the bus timetable.
    Furthermore, according to our availability, we can give the workawayer our mountainbike so that he/she could have a ride in our beautiful valley.
    We are searching for one person, no matter if boy or girl, obviously the tasks that the worker will have to do will change according to his sex.

    Although you would be required to work 5 hours and 5 days a week, I am flexible and if you want to visit or to do something else for say 4 days in one week, for us it will be good and you could make up the lost two days the week later.
    There are certain hours in the day you would need to work and possibly certain days I would prefer you to work too but however there are also plenty of flexible hours and potentially flexible days.

    Last but not least, I will offer you a wage for your working hours, we will discuss about it in our private chat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our workawayers could have a lot of benefits:
    First of all they could live an experience in the mountains, they could work very closely to the nature in a young family that is willing to welcome the volunteers as if they were new members of the family.
    The volunteer will share his working hours, his meals, his experiences and his culture with us.
    He could also have the possibility of learning Italian, He could get to know the soul italian food and he could spend his time with our guests that are coming from different nationalities. (most of them are coming from Germany, Belgium, Netherlands and France.)
    Our workawayer will learn a lot of new skills even babysitting and gardening.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We can teach our workawayer everything that concerns our inn, the preparation of the meals, the cleaning of the rooms and of the general spaces.
    We can teach them how to discover our beautiful Maira Valley and its paths, its culture and its traditions.
    We hope to learn new languages, above all English, French and German.
    We would also love to see that our child could learn languages and skills from our workawayer!
    More specifically we need that our workawayer could clean the rooms, the kitchen and the common places, then it would be helpful if he could help us cooking and welcoming the customers, if he could help us with our garden, with our child and if he could pick up the blueberries with us. (we have a small cultivation of blueberries near the inn.)
    According to the time of the year and with the workawayer's availability, we would also need help with some outdoors activities such as: mow the lawn, plowing, clean the paths and getting wood.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workawayer will stay in a one-room apartment that is located inside our inn.
    It is equipped with a kitchenette that the workers could use for great autonomy, but the meals are included and prepared by us.
    Then in this apartment the workawayer could take advantage of a bed and a wardrobe.
    After that, there is also a stove that the worker could use obviously only after having asked us.
    The worker will have the keys for great sicurity and autonomy, but sometimes we will ask you to come in for turning on or clean the stove that is used for the warming of the entire inn.
    The bathroom isn't inside the apartment but it's easily accessible with an intercommunication staircase.

    We can prepare all the meals for the workawayer (breakfast, lunch and dinner).
    For breakfast we can offer milk, tea, yoghurt, biscuits, cereals, fruits, jam, juice, cold cuts..
    For what concerns lunch and dinner, we can prepare pasta or meat, vegetables, fruits...
    If the workawayer would also have a break in the afternoon, we can offer yoghurt, ice creams, fruits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During their time off, the workers could go down the hill with the line bus, we could also offer him the timetables.
    Here in Maira Valley there are some small villages such as Dronero where there are pharmacies, cinema, cafe, disco...
    There are some cities that are bigger and with more things to do such as Cuneo, Saluzzo... Unfortunately it takes an hour of bus to get there but they're easily achievable with the bus.
    If otherwise they love the mountains and the nature, here it's the ideal place to have walks or bike rides.
    If we have to go to Cuneo to do the shoppings, we could offer them a lift so that they don't have to take the bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 449179519471

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)