Vancouver Island, Canada - come and help me in the beautiful Cowichan Valley

Country

Canada

Favourited 310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    202

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for one or two workawayers who are free now for a week or so. My farm will go on the market soon and I need help with the final clean up of the gardens (veggie and flower) which means some light weed wacking etc. The work is not too difficult but takes time.

    Having hosted many wonderful workawayers, I find that for my homestead the best fit is for people who have had previous workaway experiences and enjoy working independently. There might be some cleaning of a cottage if the Airbnb guests leave while you are here. I enjoy people with some simple carpentry experience as there are always things to do in that department. Some experience with power tools can be an asset. People who enjoy finding solutions are always needed.

    With the days getting longer, there will always be time for hiking, biking and exploring this wonderful part of BC. The Cowichan River is 5 minutes away with great trails and Cowichan Lake is 15 minutes with great swimming. It might be a bit cold for rafting the river, but on warm days you can enjoy the swimming. We are only 4 hours from Tofino with good bus service.

    Please read the rest of this profile to see if it would be good for you. All accommodation is very comfortable. One room in the house has a queen bed, the other has two beds. There is also a Small House and a Cozy Cottage which are used by workaways when they are not rented.

    I moved from the city of Victoria, BC 10 years ago to the beautiful Cowichan Valley to rekindle my love of the country, animals, organic farming, hiking, biking etc.. My family has been in BC for many years and have ranched and farmed. I have a very beautiful farm of 4 acres west of Duncan, BC. My children live in different parts of BC and are an International Mountain Guide, an off-the-grid farmer and homesteader, a School Principal, a social worker and an author and photographer (recent IMAX movie The Great Bear Rainforest). They visit often but don't live on the farm.

    I provide all meals, but appreciate your helping out with cooking and cleanup after our shared meals. I also am most happy when you cook some dinners.

    Absolutely no smokers.

    You can read my reviews and see I am grateful and easy going and love the workawayers I have had so far.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaways often meet with other volunteers in the neighbourhood as there are many, many people from all over the world in the Cowichan Valley. This is especially true in the summer and we try to have pot luck dinners with workawayers on neighbouring farms.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required changes all the time so I need people who have some talents, are cheerful and willing to pitch in and can work independently. What has worked well for all is that I make a detailed list of what needs to be done. We walk around and see what is on the list. Then each day, the workawayers go over the list and choose what they want to do. I have no problem if you want to work on a couple of projects so it is always fun and fresh. Some jobs of course take longer than one day. I have thoroughly enjoyed the many workawayers that have come to my farm.

    You can work when you want to and preferably you are able to carry on after learning what needs to be done. Depending on what we all want, I usually put out food for breakfast and lunch according to what people want. Dinner is eaten together and I hope you enjoy cooking and would be willing to cook some dinners. Our food tends to be local, and I find that most workawayers want vegetarian and even vegan food and are excellent cooks. I am not against meat, but we certainly lean toward excellent plant based food.

    I will never ask you to work harder than I do!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either a 2 bedroom cottage, a Small House or a private room in my home. In summer, many workawayers prefer to sleep in a tent which works too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have bikes for you and the biking and hiking trails are incredible around here. There is swimming in the Cowichan River as well as tubing on the river. We have a large lake 20 minutes away called Lake Cowichan and there is a bus there or I often drive the workaways there for their days off.

    If you don't have a car, there is excellent bus service 5 minutes away. The town of Duncan has a huge rec centre for working out, swimming etc. I often go to town and take the volunteers to other places.

    I am a Director of the local Cowichan Naturalist Club so there are events there. It is a great place if you are at all interested in the outdoors as the hiking and birding is good. On days off, Victoria is only an hour away by bus. I try and find out where other workaways are in the neighbourhood and we often have pot lucks with them.

    Tofino is 4 1/2 hours away and is a destination place for most workawayers after they leave here. There is a bus to get there. It does help to have a car, but is not necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 443927946762