Off-grid living near Valchiusa, Piedmont, Northern Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 79 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Ciao! we're Emanuele, Francesca, Olaf and Leopoldo.
    Emanuele (32 yo) works as a videographer and is a DIY project enthusiast, Francesca (31) studies natural sciences and she's the queen b of the garden, Olaf (5,half border collie) takes care of human resources,

    We moved here in Valchiusella a couple of years ago because we were looking for a place where we could live completely immersed in nature and where we could experiment living off grid.
    The house was built at the beginning of 1900 it's completely surrounded by nature, and we totally live off the grid.

    We love hiking, to experiment with gardening and DIY projects, especially with repurposed materials.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will experience living off the grid, immerse in the nature of the mountain by the river

  • Help

    Help

    We will need help for :

    -gardening,
    -moving materials from the car to the house,
    -chopping wood,
    -building DIY projects
    -house maintenance in general.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a traditional cottage house built on the bank of the river Chiusella and surrounded by woods in Valchiusella, Piemonte.

    We are completely off the grid : we have solar panels so we have to pay attention on how we use electricity because sometimes it may be limited and we get water from a spring.

    You'll have a private guest room with a double bed and a dresser, we will provide bed sheets, blankets and pillows.
    We will share living room, kitchen and toilet.
    Toilet and sun heated shower are outside.
    A minimun of adaptability is required as you will live immersed in nature.

    We live in the house with a dog and a cat.

    We recommend you to bring
    -clothes for every kind of weather
    -working clothes
    -head lamp
    -waterproof jacket
    -hiking shoes

    Wifi is only available through our phones and just for important uses.

    We will provide food/meals/ingredients and 3 meals

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can find many hiking trails in the area
    during summer you can take a swim in the river or just sunbathe on a big rock on the river :)

    To get to our place you can reach Ivrea by train and then take a cheap bus to Traversella.
    If needed we can pick you up from Ivrea train station.
    For more informations please contact us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 435946394285

Feedback