Help us building a new house, gardening and cooking at our vegetarian non-profit retreat center in Strömstad, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE
    We are now looking for someone who loves building and who is handy, already has some previous experience with building or renovation and who is willing to give us a helping hand in our house project. Together we will make the panel walls, floors, skirts and finish the kitchens. And also other things. Looking forward to hear from you!

    Happy new year!
    ________________________________________________________________________________________

    Hello!

    Would you like to meet new people, have fun, learn about other cultures, try new things and at the same time taking action to make the world a better place?

    This is exactly what we want to do! And as we've decided not to travel at the moment we invite travelers to come to us instead and help us with our projects :)

    We are Anna and Patric, 30, and we are running a small non-profit retreat center that Anna's grandfather started almost 60 years ago, still all vegetarian and with a holistic approach to life and health. We have a passion for sustainability and have a goal of transforming this farm into a climate neutral, or even better, climate positive place where people can make a positive impact while traveling. And we would love to get to know you and get some help along the way! Perhaps we can learn from each other about how we can care about the earth and really make a difference for this planet. There is no planet B and no one is too small to matter. And if we meet and support each other and make connections, we get so much stronger. We moved here 2019 from Stockholm to live a more sustainable lifestyle and follow our dreams. We hope to inspire and start a sparkle that you can bring with you from here. We both love to find out what makes other people tick...!

    The farm is located on a beautiful island close to the town Strömstad on the west coast of Sweden. It's very close to the Norwegian border and right in the middle of Oslo and Gothenburg. You can get to Strömstad by bus or train, and there's a bridge connection to the island and you can go by car.

    The community is vegetarian/vegan and alcohol and drug-free just as the retreat center. On the farm we have a sauna, a yoga and meditation room, fireplaces, games, books, instruments, vegetable garden, fruit trees, fire pits, hammock, outdoor games and so on. It's really close to the water so if you dare you can join for an ice bath or just watch beautiful sunsets by the boathouse or from the mountain. Perhaps you want to join learning to meditate, try some yoga, create music or other forms of art, continue your own practice whatever it might be and inspire others with who you are and what you do. We believe starting with yourself and developing inner peace is an important part of changing the world to the better, creating more peace and harmony. And doing this together with others brings so much joy into it we think!

    Working hours will be 25 hours a week. Tasks will vary through the seasons but might include gardening, building, cooking food, preparing firewood, cleaning of the center and other things. You need to be okay with helping out with any of the tasks. Some working hours before lunch, lunch together, followed by some working hours after lunch or in the evening depending on what needs to be done. However, we are open to find solutions and adjust when possible if you have some requests :)

    Free time can be spent in the surrounding beautiful area. There is so many things to do and you can also do nothing at all. Just enjoying being present or going on adventures in the surrounding nature or vitising the nerest town Strömstad or spending a day in Norway (if the border is open). We possibly have dinner together as well depending on what the community currently looks like.

    On the farm in other cabins live four people at the moment, one dog and one cat. The two of us, Anna and Patric, live in a small cabin next to the main building.

    Our dream is for this wonderful place to be of value as mush as possible to humans, animals and the entire planet. And for this place to still be here and to be of value also to future generations. We are very inspired by permaculture and learn as we go.

    Come and be part of our small community here!

    Looking forward hearing from you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meeting new people, learning and practicing language, sharing ideas and knowledge of environmental issues and what we can do to help solve the climate crisis, learning about different cultures from each other as well as the Swedish culture here. Trying new things, having fun, enjoying the stillness of a retreat center off-season, experience nature and exploring the surroundings, creating memories and making new friends.

    We can teach some about life at a farm, vegetarian and vegan food, permaculture, gardening, building, yoga, meditation and sustainability.

    Anna studied physiotherapy and Patric to become a carpenter. We both have had many different jobs and most recently in Stockholm we both worked with people with disabilities which we enjoyed a lot, and Patric has spent many years working at youth centers. We enjoy traveling and are very happy that we spent so much time abroad traveling to different countries. Anna likes yoga (especially ashtanga yoga), dance and meditation. Patric likes creating things, videography, movies and music. We both enjoy nature, gardening, animals and having a good time. Anna is more of an organizer and Patric is more spontaneous. We both go with the flow and try to enjoy life to the fullest while doing work that is very meaningful to us.

  • Help

    Help

    We need hands on help with different projects different times of the year. January and February 2022:

    - House project
    Help building the new house. Mainly help with finishing the two kitchens, making indoor panel walls, floor, skirts and some painting. Since this work requires more precision we are looking for someone handy who preferably already has some previous experience of building or renovation. There are several other buildings and constructions that also needs love and care if you have some ideas!

    - Gardening
    If the soil is not frozen we need help with the the vegetable garden, mainly to finish the paths. We are inspired by permaculture, and happily share with you what we have learnt so far and are happy to learn more.

    - Food
    Help in the kitchen cooking vegetarian/vegan meals for the community. If you want to be the chef and take full responsibility of the kitchen we are open to that idea too!

    - Other tasks
    Woodchopping, cleaning of the center, carrying and moving things, other indoor and outdoor chores that needs to be done. If you have experience of photography or marketing, it could be of extra value to us collecting beautiful photos for our social media and future marketing material.

    We are looking for like-minded, kind, positive and openminded people. It’s important to us that you can work independently as well as in a group or pair. You need to be good at communicating and being okay with physical work outdoors and indoors. We also value flexibility and responsibility, since life and work at the farm tend to change with short notice and be a bit unpredictable. We would love if you have some special skills that could be useful here, experience or knowledge in gardening or building since we are also learning and need help where we don’t manage ourselves, but it's not necessary.

    If you want to go with our flow for a while, let us know! And let us know what of the above you are interested in helping out with.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Different accommodation different times of the year. January and February 2021:

    Volonteers live either in different cabins or in the main building where you get a bedroom, single or double. The main building is an old house with two floors and it has simple and rustic furnishings. Heating is from two fireplaces which we will instruct you who to use. The kitchen is vegetarian only and you will help each other to keep the house kleen and nicely in order. There is plenty of food and you can use everything in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From the farm it's 10km to the nearest town Strömstad, a bridge connecting the island to the mainland and to more islands. There is a bus stop near, few buses though and none during weekends when the days off normally are. You can borrow a bicycle. Close by you can find a marine national park, a nature reserve, walking trails, hiking trails, bike park, beaches, boat tours to different islands and many outdoor activities.

    Looking forward hearing from you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Only during the months of summer.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only sometimes, you can ask :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 426774861459