Help watching one 10 year old boy Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Start Date as soon as possible -
    Hello :)

    We are a very easy going family of two.

    My son and I live in a simple eco-style house, very bright and new with a huge yard and near a gorgeous park and river. There are lots of bike trails, hiking, paddle boarding, climbing etc near us. The island also has surfing (a few hours drive away) and many nice beaches. The nature on the island is stunning and the winter is very mild, it's like a rain forest.

    My son is in school, and I work full time. In our off time we like to relax, explore outside, see friends, travel. My son has been homeschooling until recently so going to a public school is a big change for him. He is doing well and loves it, but will need some support in catching up. He enjoys drawing, climbing, swimming, biking. And wants to learn how to play guitar, soccer and baseball. He is a very sweet, bright boy who is fun to have around.

    We have a very easy going home and lifestyle, and don't live in a stressful or hectic way. I'm looking for someone who is great with kids to be available after school to watch my son when I'm working. We can discuss the hours and roles so that everyone feels happy. I would want whoever is here to enjoy being here and feel like it's their home too, not like they are here as a "worker". There would be a lot of free time, and I can share my car sometimes too.

    Ideally, I can find someone looking for 6-12 months, at least a few months. Someone that wants to study at the same time, or learn a new skill, or even work somewhere part-time would easily be able to fit this in.

    let me know if you'd like to discuss this more :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to travel, be active, and enjoy our beautiful island. We like freedom and enjoying life to the max.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone to be a positive influence and mentor to take great care of my son, so I can do my things. He is easy going and fun to hang out with. Hanging out with him could be a mixture of taking him to see other friends or just hanging out at home, going out on adventures like biking, swimming, or indoor climbing. We have a big yard and live near Bright Angel Park. I'm happy to be flexible and lend you my car when I can.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    own room, nice new home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum


Host ref number: 417754444285