Seeking help to prepare an old croft house for renovation in an area of outstandingly beautiful in Acharacle, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple seeking help to prepare an old croft house for renovation. It is an exciting project for us and involves a lot of work long term, initially we need help short term. We need to remove interior partition walls, strip out plasterboard and remove and recycle existing electrical wiring. ideally we would like volunteers with energy and enthusiasm and at this stage no special skills are required.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is outstandingly beautiful and people visit it from all over the world to enjoy the outdoor activities on offer, it is a magnet for mountain enthusiasts, sea-kayaking and sailing fans. For anyone with an interest in Scottish history we have the locus of some significant events and for geologists we are in a Geopark. Musicians are drawn this area because of it's rich musical culture, inspiration for lovers of Scottish traditional music. Birdwatchers and wild life enthusiasts, artists and photographers all contribute to the rich but subtle local culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We have an old croft house that we plan to renovate and need help to strip it out in preparation for improvements to make it eco-friendly and sustainable, no special skills are needed only energy and enthusiasm.
    We need to remove partition walls, plasterboard, floorboards and electrical wiring, we want to our volunteer to help us reduce the house to an empty shell.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We currently live in a modern bungalow adjacent to the old croft house and can offer a double room with exclusive use of a shower room, we will provide bedding and towels and laundry facilities for our volunteer(s). We will provide home cooked meals and can cater for vegans and vegetarians but are happy to share cooking and perhaps learning new cuisines.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our little village is 25mins from a halt on the West Highland railway line near Mallaig, ferries from here to Skye, the Small Isles and there is a local ferry service to Mull. We have a local bus service linking with national bus services from Fort William. Our area is a prime destination for cyclists and has links to the National Cycle Network.
    We are near Ardnamurchan point, the most western place in the British isles and enjoy long summer days.
    The host works full time in Aquaculture, is an accomplished fiddle player and has an extensive knowledge of local music traditions, he would welcome anyone with similar interests.
    The hostess works freelance in Heritage and Expressive Arts education, she has worked with learners and volunteers of many ages and abilities. She has a keen interest in improving her limited use and understanding of French and would welcome volunteers who know or use French, she also has a keen interest in the historic links between France and Scotland.
    We are both in our early 50's are fairly laid back, love the outdoors and cooking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 399851337239