Help us to build an eco-lodge, work in a farm and help the Batwa Community on Reggae Island, Lake Bunyonyi, Uganda

  • Favourited 272 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I'm a nature, animal lover and creative!
    Love, Peace, Respect, unity and Harmony that's me✌️
    I spend much of my time in nature, doing farming , building and construction work. and with animals, organic farming, permaculture and recycling.

    I'm currently working with pigymies (batwa) (the indigenous Africans) who were chased from Bwindi forest by the ugandan government to promoted tourism( Gorilla tracking) This community is living a very terrible life. I have a big story to tell!! We need more help with fundraising, buy land for the community , building and construction of school for kids, long term teachers to teach in the community . I have a big dream for the Batwa community but i need Hands.
    I'm also writting a proposal about Women empowerment and youth institutional projects. This is by way to empower women most especially single mothers such that they get ways to sastain themselves.

    About youth institutional projects, we encourage youth with skills like capentry and joinery, building skills, painting and drawing to improve on their skills and teach others.

    About Reggae island 🏝🇺🇬🇯🇲
    My cottages are right on the lake shores with a perfect view of the lake and surroundings, there is available camping space and place for lovely campfire at night
    I live with many birds which at time sing during the night.

    Reaching my village you get one hour boat ride from the mainland where the cars and motorcycles stops...here is a supper cool adventure on the beautiful lake with locals and see the islands.

    I have a motorboat so I can pick up guests at anytime of arrival. There is also public boats from mainland(Rutinda) to my place Monday to Saturday from 2pm to 4pm but please its more better to inquire from me before your arrival .

    My big dream is to make a life change for the piggymies and to build up a sweet and lovely eco lodge at Reggae island🏝🇺🇬🇯🇲
    Mainly people who would love to live and exprience and learn about local lifestyle and promote ecotourism through environment conservation

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You're likely to learn how to live a local and simple life. Local languages, servival skills ,traditional dances

  • Help

    Help

    I need people who can help with Fundraising. I need more funds for the pigymies community . The Money is for buying them more land and Build them a school .

    More land for them to do farming


    About my eco lodge
    my construction includes of traditional houses with wood, grass and mud.

    working in gardening, I have land available for planting alot of food so I need help with organic farming, doing composite .

    I need help with website designing

    I love cooking but would be nice getting people to share with cooking different dishes and learn .

    There is some animals at home, one cow and baby cow, goats and kicken so people who would really love animals can go grazing in farms and forest around.

    At my village Im trying to promote ecotourism so sometimes I have tourists staying any help and knowledge about this is highly appreciated.

    Helping in house is by arranging beds ,cleaning, and washing.


    I'm planing to start building a school for the Batwa community so i need much help .
    Currently . There is a school very close to my village about 20 minutes with canoe. There are kids from primary one to primary six so people who can teach kids in school are highly needed.

    Need people to help with Art project in wood curving , carpentry, painting and drawings and other different arts ..that is also important to teach kids...new generation.

    We conserve our mother earth through plastic desporsal , tree and fruit planting, organic farming, permacultute and environmental teaching to communities around the lake.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one private hut with a bed, mattres,bedsheets, pillow and covers + mosquito net.It is non self contained, the shower and toilet is shared out side. The toilet is a pit latrine.
    please remember that no electricity at my place,I just have solar energy but not strong enough so it is only one used for lights in rooms and charging phones only... No charging computers or any other strong electronics that takes more energy.

    There is camping ground if anyone wish to do camping

    There is available kitchen.
    About food; I can provide free accommodation but workawayers can pay 4 dollars aday for three meals. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    All meals are cooked and served at right time.

    I live in an island where no suppermarkets and shops close by, the nearest shop takes about 1hr hike or 1hr canoeing.
    4 dollars a day will buy local food from the village to help support the community. There is beans, sweet potatoes, Irish potatoes, greens,cabbages, avocados, matoke, fish sometimes .

    I have a small bar with beers, sodas, water and music available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy the beautiful views, hiking
    canoeing
    swimming
    boat ride
    wild camping
    birdwatching
    Community walks
    visiting historical sites
    Wild camping and much more
    There is available public boats from Monday to saturday, it leaves my place in the morning 8am and returns in the afternoon or evening

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would really love to meet and work with different people with new and different ideas. This make me learn new and different things.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I love all animals so I don't mind at all for anyone coming with a pet

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 397628874157

Feedback (12)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)






















Help us with the community and teaching and learn our culture in Iganga, Uganda
Join our community and make it a better home by sharing your skills with our children in Masaka, Uganda