Enjoy a cultural exchange and help around my place in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

updated  

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Chin from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.

    I have a home office in Kota Kinabalu. My house sits on a half acre hill side land. I have a separate wooden house not far from my house for work away volunteers.

    I have 3 dogs. a Koi pond and a small organic orchard and vegetable garden on my land.

    I would be happy to host a couple of volunteers to help with video editing, website, gardening, construction and office administrative work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will learn about constructions from me, I am an Architect. 😊
    I am doing some tiling work for my swimming pool now.
    Organic gardening, i am a lousy gardener : )
    Chinese, Malay languages. Travel Tips, I love to travel. Stories, I have been to 55 countries.

    Kota Kinabalu is a cheap and friendly place to live in. it was voted as the Top 10 places to retire in the world.
    My house is in a jungle within the city.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers can help me with building renovations like tiling works, general maintenance, gardening, wedding, internet work and simple tasks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Chinese, Malay, some Thai, some broken Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For Non Smokers and Dog Lovers only. I have three big dogs. Sometimes the dogs bark at night.

    You must be Neat and Tidy.

    You will have you own detached wooden house in a semi-jungle environment. Your own pantry, sink, toilet and shower. You won't have to share with anyone if you are a couple, if you are a solo traveller you will have to share room with another volunteer because there is only one room available.

    My place is very quiet . It is in a mini jungle with lots of trees, even though we are just 2 km from the city centre.

    Although there will be mosquitoes, there is mosquito netting for the windows. Your own room has 2 single mattresses on the floor with pillows and blankets. There is a ceiling fan and electricity sockets.

    There is a fridge, kettle, small cooker , electric rice cooker, wooden table and chairs just outside your room. my maid will use the common space for laundry twice a week but only for a short while. other times it is very quiet. You can drink your tea in a jungle. 😁

    Make your own breakfast, coffee, tea and toasts. Uncooked food will be provided for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You will prepare your own meals. I am a vegetarian so I can't buy meat for you, sorry. I buy food once every two weeks.

    WiFi is Not available in your room, it is only available up in the main house. Your house is located below a hill, you will have to walk up and down the hill everyday, not that high. Sometimes my dogs will accompany you : )😊

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    your volunteer hours are 5 hours a day. 5 days a week.

    my house is just 5 minutes by bus to the city. you will walk for 5 minutes to the bus stop. About RM2 to the city.

    Kota Kinabalu has many seafood restaurants, cheap and fresh. foods is everywhere, you won't go hungry.

    The jetty to the island is in the city, about 25 minutes by boat to 5 islands nearby. cheap fares too. you can go to the islands ever weekend if you like.

    There are many beaches around here. two very near town, about 10 minutes drive/bus away.

    Mount Kinabalu and its National park is reachable by bus from the city.you must visit ..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days /week

Host ref number: 392559199358