Live & work with our small locals&nomad community at the Ecuadorean Coast

Country

Ecuador

updated  

Favourited 288 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a belgian-ecuadorian family running a small nomad hostel/ colive&cowork/ unschooling community/ whatever you like to call us :). It s situated in the fishing village of Santa Marianita at the Ecuadorean coast. It's an amazing place for all of us that thrive in an authentic and natural environment, love living with the local fishermen, value outdoor sports (kitesurf, surf, beachtennis, football..) and other cultures. Have a look on our website to get a better feel of who we are :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -Life in a small fishing village: from searching calamars, over raising babies in a hammock, to understanding dynamics in a village without men
    -Lots of outdoor sports: kitesurf, surf, beachtennis, or football with the locals (boys as well as girls)
    -Get to know the nomad life: working online while traveling
    -Talking spanish
    -Barefoot walking
    -Experience in whatever you're working with us (construction, marketing, kids, cooking, cleaning...)
    -You get an extra family :p

  • Help

    Help

    Usually you work the morning about 4h (from 7.30), the afternoon on average an hour more.

    Some small jobs have to get done every day and are not optional:
    *️️️️️️️️️️daily morning cleaning of the hostel and surroundings (+- half an hour)
    *️️️️️️️️️cooking: we provide you with all food, but we share the cooking ofcourse! Usually, we do breakfast and lunch, you do dinners. We love to try out your favourite recepies :), and though we are not necesarily vegetarian, you're welcome to help us discover vegetarian/vegan dishes!
    *️️️️️️️️️kids: we have two small kids ourselves, and guests might have as well. Entertaining a kid in a difficult moment and cleaning up all the stones/sand/wood/cars/balls/other toys that seem to get lost every minute, is a never-ending task :)

    Then, other things depend on what we need at the moment you're with us, what you are good at, and what you like to do. Anyhow, when you reach out to us, be sure to tell us more about yourself (what are your values, passions), and if you have a particular area of the following in mind, give us a glance of what your experience is in that area.
    Possiblities are:

    Building, maintenance, gardening, eco-projects
    We are always improving poco a poco.. there's always things to build, paint, create, repair, etc. We have lots of ideas that we want to execute, of which for example building a windmill, putting a leaf roof on a small house, creating shadow space for kids to play, build a new family cabaña... We'd love your help if you have handy hands and a positive spirit! A decent conversational knowledge of spanish is nice for this work.

    Marketing:
    We can use your help in marketing, doing things like social media, small website changes, taking interviews, content writing, working with influencers, photography,.. We target mainly slow travelers, digital nomads, and nomad families.
    A decent written english and some experience in marketing (wordpress, social media strategy..) are important for this work.

    We always like to give a lot of freedom, trust and independence in your work. On the other side, we expect you also to take up that independence and responsability to take initiative by yourself. You're part of our family here -remember that communication is key!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    spanish, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We like monthly stays, as we always get sad when people leave :).
    You get a small room for the two of you in our hostel. There's good internet, a common kitchen (though anyhow we always eat together), you can use surf boards for free and kitesurf at a discount.. Basically you're part of our family, so we treat you like one, and the entire things becomes totally wonderfull if you treat us like part of your family as well :).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Maybe i can tell something about us in short.

    What we should mention.. is that we have quite a chaotic life style :). Don't come here volunteer if you look for something very organized, business-like, things timed and plans totally thought-through. But do come if you like to live the moment, like us.. When there is wind and we feel like, we leave everything and go kitesurf. We might start at 6 working cause we feel like, to suddenly stop because some interesting people have come by. Toddlers run between everything. Change of plans when Juan's dad comes back from fishing and needs the car. Etc.. And between everything, we try to do something useful :).

    A little word about santa marianita: it is a fishing village, very quite, with a magnificent beach and around a lot of deserted little beaches.. wonderful. Come here for the coastal ecuadorian culture, for the nice people, and for the nature -don t come for party because you will end up disappointed. There is a good wind here to practice kitesurf, and good waves for surf or SUP.

    There are a lot of dogs in santa marianita - don't come if you have fear of dogs.

    Finally: we recently started up a small alternative 'school' (free-learning environment) with some local families. In this project, we are looking for volunteers with a profound interest in kids, free-learning and alternative education to help out in the school. Helping out there goes in exchange for free stay at the place of the project (no food provided). Feel free to contact us if you're interested!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 388973125474