Help in the garden and working in the woods while staying with me on my little, old farm 10 km from Tromsø, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on an Old farm next to the sea 10 min drive from Tromsø. Here I am growing ecological vegetables in a CSA community and also do maintenance on the property. Doing this are my main tasks summertime, beside some work assignments outside the farm. As your host I will look forward welcoming you on my farm and show you my favorite hiking spots in the area. I will also enjoy sharing meals with you and getting to know some more about you and your culture. I am a woman at 52 living with my daughter at 17. My son at 23 and my partner and boyfriend will also be visiting and staying with us some times. I have a cat and a dog, who also lives with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The community garden I am running is ecological and founded on permacultural thinking. Working in the CSA or my private garden, you will learn how to grow sustainable and ecologic.
    My farmhouse is located beautiful next to the fjord and mountain. We can go hiking together or I can show you different routs you can do by yourself. We are only 10 km from Tromsø town, and you can borrow a bike and easy ride to town. Public transportation are also available. Tromsø has a great variety of different things to do. Since I am a "Tromsø girl", I will give recommendations, based on what you like to do.

  • Help

    Help

    I am a well organized woman and I plan our days to look more or less (Mon-Fri) like this:
    - 0830 -0900 breakfast
    - 0900-1100 foresting or gardening
    - 1100-1200 lunch
    -1200-1400 woodcutting or maintainence on the farm
    -1400-1500 cleaning or tidy the house, maybe only every second day

    Dinner we agree upon every day, depending of what you want to do or if we have plans together. I am quite experienced in the kitchen and if you like we can cook together and share tips and suggestions.

    We make special agreements about weekends, depending on your preferences or what is on the agenda.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with linen and towels in the house. You will share bathroom with the family and are free to use the house for relaxation. You will live with us as a family member. I will provide all meals when your stay at the farm. When you are out hiking or exploring on your own, you provide your meals by yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For me working and relaxing are two sides of the same thing - the good life. So it is important that you are friendly, tidy and willing to put in a good effort of work. I live with this philosophy myself - and when the reward comes - in terms of a good break with some rich coffee and homemade rhubarbcake, life is good! I often lid up a bonfire at night, sometimes to cook on, other times just to enjoy life. I look forward sharing this good life at my little farm with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 386845318118