Sustainable life on the countryside in Slovenia. Come and join us in Komen!

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we live in a old village of ten houses in karst area of slovenia, 15 km from the coast. we try to live a self sustainable life with respect to nature. we bougt this old stone homestead 1,5 years ago and we have big enthisiasm in bringing new life to it, using natural materials and building methods. we have 5 hectares of land and we are building fences so our animals can do some grass cutting for us. Sara is a now a full time mother of 3 years old Tala and 3 months old Jadran, otherwise she is a joga and dance teacher. Mitja is sport teacher who doesnt do sports, but likes to be in nature, work with horses, build natural shelters and work with children. we are discovering ways how to live and arrange our house to not harm the environment, but to support it. our greywater from the hose goes to watering trees, we use a compost toilet, dont put poison to our plants and other simmilar things...we like to share our knowledge with you new friends!

    SPECIAL THING: we Will go for a travel in january and february 2020 so we are looking for honest and responsible vounteers who will take care of our home while we are gone. your tasks Will not be too hard, mainly taking care of the house, animals and doing some work. we would be in touch by email or phone for things that need comunnication. for us would be perfect if we get someone, or a couple, or a familly who would come around 1.1. to show the around and stay for 5 to 7 weeks, but it is also possible for less time and we Will connect dates... thank you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you Will learn about sustainable living, growing your own natural food, annimal breeding, greywater systems for trees watering, ecological building, and some more...

  • Help

    Help

    we have two small children and we have many things to do on our land, with our animals (6 sheeps, two donkeys and a pony), on our ecological garden, and with rebuilding our home. in next month our main focus is to build a open wooden stall for animals before real winter comes, so we need a person or two who likes to move wood around and help with this...also we need a person who would enjoy spending time with our tala, 3 year old girl, who doesnt go to kindergarden or help Sara around with the house work. We are starting a nature kindergarden so volunteers are wellcome to work with children in nature.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, slovenian, croatian, some german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we offer a separate room with improvized kitchen for you. we also prepair breakfast and lunch (or we prepair together). dinner is as it comes, sometimes together, sometimes separate. we dont mind to take you along on our trips in the sorrounding nature or to the seaside. we enjoj meeting people who share our respect to nature and natural way of living. please bring for yourself biodegradable soap/shampoo and toothpaste withouth fluorine, because oure waste water goes to our fruit trees.. so we eat what we spit.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Many beautifull places to see around here...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours per day 5 days per week or as we agree

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 385626774994

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more