Microfarming in an early 19 th century Rouergue farm, Lugan, Aveyron, France

Country

France

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am running a "microfarm" in Northern Aveyron, aiming at full self sufficiency and long term commercial income. I have been cultivating vegetables year round, organic, no dig, plastic free, for a family of three plus occasional guests for already some years. Besides, I have specialized in breeding rabbits which is perfectly complementary with growing greens. I also have an orchard were chicken and hens can roam freely, with large plum, apple, peach, walnut, hasselnut trees, and many other smaller trees. I am managing 4 ha of chesnut tree forest that i am now renovating . Finally, I have use of a few acres natural meadow owned by my family.

    I used to work in research before settling in Aveyron. The house I live in is old (200 years) and a typical farm from the region. It has been built by my ancestors and farmed ever since as well as used as a carpentry workshop.
    I live with my partner Frida and my daughter Jova. Frida is a freelance translator and work between here and Sweden. I plan to host people mainly when they are away.
    I have no car for the moment, and do everything by bike.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lugan is close to historical sites and lively local markets (Conques, Villefranche, Peyrusse le roc, Rodez) accessible by bike, bus or train for a daily trip. The village itself hosts a religious building from the 13 th century and the closest village, Bournazel, hosts one of the finest renaissance casltle of Occitanie region.
    Lugan is also a forested place with nice trekking circuit and views for those who enjoy nature. Last but not least, it has a great number of architectural remains (early 19th century) from an active agricultural life, now left to the forest and waiting to be rediscovered.

  • Help

    Help

    I will need help with gardening using no dig and permaculture principle, taking care of the orchard, taking care of rabbits, renovating the house (natural insulation wool and hemp, renovation of some walls, painting, setting a place for sheep and goats), helping with preparing firewood and taking care of our forest. And off course eating the surplus of fruits and rabbits. There is usually a variety of task and a large choice according to tastes and skills. You might have to help me to go shopping if you like cycling.
    I am careful not to use any toxic products for my work. 100 % natural.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large room for one or two people. I usually eat vegetables and fruits I produce. It is easier if you eat some meat and fish. Only eat organic or wild if bought outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The next big village is 3 km away. There you have busses to Villefranche , Rodez and Decazeville. There is a train station near Decazeville to go to Brives (Paris) or Rodez. From Villefranche, you can go to Toulouse. You can even reach the closest train station by bike.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 381847326691