Help develop our project of socially cohesive housing in Miramas, South of France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband, our 2 daughters (12 and 13) and I live in an antique provençal house on a 6 000m² land, 50 km from Marseille. We work in the production of a music festival and are ourselves musicians too. Born in the Northern African Gnawa culture, my husband sings and plays percussion, and I am an accordionist. My husband is 47 years old and I'm 50 years old. We used to live 20 years in Paris, working in cultural projects. Since 2 years, we bought a big land and we would like to develop a socially cohesive project on that land with trailers, to welcome people in life transition, lifestyle reconsideration and society distancing. We are proud to build our lives and values around friendship and sharing and we are passionate about music. 

    Avec mon mari et nos 2 filles de 12 et 13 ans, nous habitons une maison ancienne, en Provence, avec 6 000 m2 de terrain, à 50 km de Marseille. Nous travaillons dans l'organisation de festival de musique et sommes aussi musiciens. Issu de culture gnawa d'Afrique du Nord, mon mari chante et joue des percussions, et je joue de l'accordéon. Mon mari a 47 ans et j'ai 50 ans. Nous avons habité 20 ans à Paris, travaillant dans des projets culturels. Il y a 2 ans, nous avons acheté un grand terrain, et nous avons un projet d'habitat solidaire, avec plusieurs caravanes installées sur le terrain, pour accueillir des personnes en transition, en réflexion sur leur mode de vie, sur la société. Nous avons comme valeurs le partage, l'amitié, et sommes passionnés de musique.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We frequently attend concerts and festivals and can gladly introduce travelers to our beautiful and interesting local cultural scene. We are very social and often welcome friends at home. 

    Nous allons souvent voir des concerts, sur des festivals, nous pouvons faire découvrir aux voyageurs des lieux culturels intéressants dans notre région.
    Nous sommes aussi très sociables et recevons souvent des amis à la maison. 

  • Help

    Help

    Assistance activities concern the maintenance or restoration of rooms (tiling, painting, ...) and trailers. Nothing very complicated, but a help for a bit of everything. We will work together, so we can explain you how and what to do.

    You will learn what to do by doing, We are open for new ideas.

    We are almost done building a room (bedroom + bathroom) that will be handicaped accessible. Insulation, tiling, paint and bathroom units still need to be taken care of. 

    We have a little garden with chickens. The garden needs maintenance (weeding, watering).

    Les activités concernent la maintenance, la rénovation de pièces (carrelage, peinture...) et de caravanes. Rien de très compliqué, mais une aide pour différentes choses. Nous allons travailler ensemble, et nous pouvons expliquer quoi faire et comment le faire.

    Vous apprendrez en faisant. Nous sommes aussi ouvert aux nouvelles idées.

    Nous sommes en train de finir une pièce de la maison (chambre et salle de bains), accessible aux personnes handicapées. Il reste à finir l'isolation, faire le carrelage, la peinture et poser les éléments de la salle de bain.

    Nous avons un petit jardin et des poules. Le jardin nécessite de l'entretien (désherbage, arrosage...).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are very interested in practising foreign languages ! Meeting different cultures is very important, to open our minds !

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own trailer ! 2 private trailers are available in our garden, comfortables, with electricity. The bathroom is shared and inside our house. We are building a new bathroom for travelers. There is a swimming pool in our garden, from June to September.


    Vous aurez votre propre caravane ! Il y a 2 caravanes disponibles sur notre terrain, confortables, avec électricité. La salle de bain est dans la maison, elle est partagée. Nous sommes en train de construire une nouvelle salle de bain pour les voyageurs. Nous avons une piscine dans notre jardin, de juin à septembre.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy our swimming pool. Treks and hikes are accessible from the house (GR13, Miramas le Vieux, Parc de la Poudrerie).

    You can visit many places very interesting. We live in Provence, in Miramas, 50km away from Marseille, 45km from Aix en Provence, 30km from Arles, 70km from Avignon, 50 km from the Mediterranean sea (Blue coast or Camargue). Miramas is accessible with regular  trains or buses.

    Vous pouvez profiter de la piscine. Des balades à pied depuis la maison (GR 13, Miramas le Vieux, Parc de la Poudrerie...).

    Vous pouvez visiter plusieurs villes intéressantes. Nous habitons en Provence, à Miramas, à 50 km de Marseille, 45 km d'Aix en Provence, 30 km d'Arles, 70 km d'Avignon.Trains (ou bus) réguliers. Nous sommes à 50 km de la mer Méditerranée (Côte Bleue ou Camargue).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have the wifi in the house (Not fiber-optic)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host campervan or motorhome and provide electricity and water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 2 dogs and 2 cats, and chickens ! Pets are welcome, just need te be careful !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 362226146365