Come and help in Parshallville, Michigan, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers!
    We are Bob and Eleanor. Eleanor is a retired social worker and Bob was the director of a human service agency for 23 years. Our two children are grown but our married daughter lives near Detroit and they help when they can. We have three older grand children whom we adore but rarely see any more, except for the youngest grandson whom we enjoy spending time. I love to garden, especially herbs and flowers. Bob is an artist. We enjoy the peace and quiet of our home but we could use some younger hands to help us around the house. We live in a historic two story school house in an old American village called Parshallville. It's primarily a rural community so it takes approximately one hour to drive to the city of Detroit and about 40 minutes to drive to Ann Arbor, home to the prestigious University of Michigan. There is no public transportation to the nearby towns or cities, however we often make trips to the larger nearby towns of Hartland, Howell or Brighton where there are grocery stores, restaurants, and movie theaters. There is a beautiful historic cider mill in Parshallville and a lovely pond. We have bicycles for country road riding and we have a couple of canoes available for you to use.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bob and I have traveled to many places in the world and we lived in Spain and in Mexico. We speak Spanish conversationally. Bob lived in Germany before we married, so he has basic German skills. We have lots of nice friends, neighbors and family who often stop by or join us for dinner on occasion. Parshallville is a historic village; some of the buildings are original and have been estimated to be over 150 years old. The cider mill was once a grist mill where grains were brought to be ground to flour. I can teach you how to grow herbs, vegetables and flowers. Bob can share basic art concepts and art history with you. We would love to share stories and our knowledge about local/American history and culture. I am concerned about environmental issues and have dedicated my life to activism. We can also help you with your English speaking, writing and reading.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work is not that difficult. We need help gardening, cleaning and organizing rooms, including Bob's art studio and our loaded basement that needs to be tidied and sorted. There is wood to be chopped and stacked. Windows to wash and lawn to cut and trim. Painting inside and out. Powerwashing the deck and staining it. Lifting and moving furniture and other heavy items. We also could use some basic carpentry, but only if you have the skills. We could also use some help with computer and internet issues.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish and basic German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small but cozy guest house on the property for workawayers. The guest house is a studio. It has a private bathroom, and a kitchenette, no oven or microwave, but there is a small refrigerator and stove. There is a double bed so not much room for storage. We would expect workawayers to wash their linens and clean the guest house a day before their departure. Dinners will be each night and made by us, Monday thru Thursday. On Friday you may be asked to make your own dinner. Lunch and breakfast foods will be available to you but must be prepared by you. There will be ample snacks (fruit, cheese etc). We will do our best to accommodate any special dietary needs. We can only take one workawayer or a couple. We prefer workawayers to be between 25 and 50 years old or very fit mid 60 year olds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area in and around our village has natural beauty, with nature trails for walking, lovely country roads to bicycle, farmland, a stream and a beautiful lake across the road from us where you can go canoeing. In our county are over 500 more lakes, some with beaches. West and east of us are two of the Great Lakes and north of us are forests, lakes, two amazing national parks and many lovely state parks. Near to our home are rolling hills and farms including an orchard where raspberries, strawberries, apples, peaches, cherries and other fruit can be picked and purchased. The orchard also makes wine and when the tasting room is open it can be a fun place to spend an hour. Our home is a little over 30 minutes from the college town of Ann Arbor, offering lots of cultural learning opportunities and a lively, international atmosphere. There are eclectic events, museums, art and music. Detroit, the come back city, is only one hour from Parshallville. It offers live music, bars, sporting events, and is very multi cultural. We are only a couple hours away from the great lakes where there are beautiful beaches and harbor towns. On the weekends we would love to show you one of our freshwater lakes and a beach or one of the entertaining cities nearby. Finally! believe it or not our home is only a few hours from the border of Canada where the city of Toronto would make a great weekend visit. WiFi is in the main house and in the guest house, however our computer will only be available upon request.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 358913762942