Help me to fix up an old house, build an autonomous barn and explore local culture in Auvergne, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After 5 years in the silicon valley rush, I decided to brake the flow of time and to head for a smaller scale life where my heart belongs in the heart of Auvergne, France. I moved to my late grandmother's house and began to reacquaint myself with the slower pace of a life in the country side. Now my projects are all resolved around how to make the house and barn auti-sufficient, how to increase social activity in the neighboring village of a hundred, how to give back to this region that fed me so much.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This corner of France is extremely isolated, which makes it an absolutely perfect representation of what rural France looks like. Centuries old chapels, castles and medieval villages are legion in the region. This is a perfect spot for hikers, bikers, swimmers as nature is at the heart of leasure here. There aren't many towns around, so don't expect massive movie theaters, but rather home-cinemas made out of a white sheet in an old attic.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two main projects I am currently focused on:
    * Renovation of this 150 years old house. Help is needed for things like painting doors, shutters, walls; fixing furniture; upgrading the house isolation to limit heat loss...
    * Building up a self-sufficient barn/workshop
    My brothers and I bought a barn nearby with the wish to transform it into a public workshop as autonomous as possible. Help here is needed for things like installing solar panels, water recuperation system, rocket stove for heat and warm water, greenhouse on the south wall, etc.

    Neither myself nor my brothers are particularly experts in any of those endeavors, but we are motivated to build something meaningful in the land of our grandmother.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Looking to practice my Italian and Russian, learning Japanese and exchanging in French or English!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in with me in an old stone house. You will have your own room and will share a bathroom with maximum one other person if there are many workaway-ers at the same time.
    I'm thinking that we could share the evening meal together and keep lunches on the go, as it can be hard to interrupt a nice day of work. I'm very flexible food-wise, I eat everything and I'll keep a full fridge with things you like so that you can snack as you wish during the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm fluent in French and English but would also love to practice my Italian and Russian if you are from there!

    I highly recommend having your own car as there is no public transport in this remote area. I can give you an occasional lift but I wouldn't want you to be stranded were I to be gone.

    I do things fairly instinctively without much pre-planning so don't be surprised if I suggest a hiking trip the morning of :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 355122883451