1 / 5

Some help on our hobby farm in Enderby, Canada

  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 14 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    This is a peaceful, tranquil 10 acres of pasture and mystical forest with 12 Icelandic sheep, some chickens, 2 dogs and 3 cats, a large kitchen garden, young fruit trees and flower beds. We are a 10 minute walk from Gardom Lake which is a protected area for turtles, eagles, loons, geese and ducks. It also has a public beach and a fishing dock. We are interesting people - Bozenka is an artist, published author, retired counsellor and visionary humanitarian and Andrea is a counsellor and a recently injured farmer, teacher, and humanitarian. The food is fresh, local and delicious and the conversation is always interesting. This is an alcohol, tobacco and cannabis free area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides the beautiful surrounding natural habitat, Bozenka is an excellent cook. She formerly was the owner and chef of a 5 star restaurant in Calgary. The land has ritual grounds, a temple to time and many magical and special, sacred areas. Andrea is very knowledgeable about British Columbian and Canadian history, local camping and hiking trails, sheep husbandry and genetics of this rare breed. There is always good conversation, compassion and the joy of living on the land.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Andrea recently broke her heel and is on crutches until August. We need help feeding and watering the animals, in the garden, hauling water, moving electric net fences for the sheep and things like that. Someone with carpentry skills who knows how to do minor repairs to farm fences or build 2 stairs would be greatly appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Comfortable and homey 25 foot 5th wheel trailer with running water, shower, electricity and outside composting toilet. Comfortable queen size bed over the hitch. Trailer has typical couch, table and bench seats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many recreational opportunities within a short distance. Besides Gardom Lake which has a swimming beach, raft, diving board, rope swing and fishing docks a 10 minute walk away there are 5 major lakes within 50km (Shuswap, Mara, Mable, Okanagan and Kalamalka) where there is swimming, paddleboarding, kayaking and boating. There are cute shops, cafes and restaurants, recreational facilities in nearby Salmon Arm and Enderby and all the amenities of a city in Vernon, just 45 minutes away. There are waterfalls you can hike to, gentle mountain hikes on Mt Rose Swanson or the Enderby Cliffs and more serious hikes for those so inclined on the rim rock trail and Mt Ida and many others. Public transportation to these locations can be tricky but can be arranged with the host.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre optic high speed internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    there are no sewer/water hook ups but there is electricity and water can be pumped into a holding tank.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 344113548781