Help at our little farm on the island of Euboea, Greece



Favourited 628 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a three member family(all adults) who own a horse farm in the northern part of the island of Evia (Greece) next to the sea.We are a non profit company and most of our animals are rescued. The farm operates as a riding centre -trail rides,riding lessons- in order to promote the human-animal relationship and contribute to the animals' expenses.There are also some dogs and many cats -found dumped and being sheltered till we find a nice home for them- a few goats (we make cheese from their milk) a pig and some fowl -mostly ducks- and a small organic garden. The place is remote at the end of a beautiful beach but just 1 km from a tourist village with taverns,coffee-bars and lots of people during summer.We are solar powered and pump water out of our well. We will offer you riding lessons and as one of us is an equine veterinarian surgeon you can get valuable veterinary information. We always enjoy to discuss all we have learned living near nature for thirty years but to exchange knowledge with other people as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    We need help with our everyday routine: feeding,watering,mucking out,grooming,cleaning tack,nursing injured or sick animals and looking after the garden but also with the riding activities and if you are experienced ,training horses and trimming hooves always according to the principles of natural horsemanship . Also leading horses mounted by beginners in short trail rides or accompanying more efficient riders in longer rides almost every day during summertime and usually during weekends for the rest of the year.
    Although we prefer volunteers with some experience with horses,we welcome all nature and animal lovers who are willing to share experiences with our animal companions and us.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We own a big two floor house on our land and volunteers can use the ground floor. It consists of a big two space room which was meant to serve as living and dining room,one small bedroom ,a bathroom with toilet ,shower and wood fire water heater which we avoid to use in summer because there is no need for it since the water is already warm enough thanks to Greece’s plenty sunshine and a kitchen which we can all share.There are one double and three single beds ,a fireplace and a wood burning stove .During the warm months, if you prefer, you can put up your own tent on our land by the sea and use our kitchen and bathroom of course.
    We can share our kitchen (we are vegetarians) or provide you with the necessary stuff to cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our land is right by the sea on Psaropouli beach four kilometres from the village Vassilika ,Northern Evia, 85 kilometres from Halkis . It is isolated but on the other end of the beach ,about 15 minutes walk ,there are mini markets,cafes,bars and taverns . There is one bus from Vassilika to Halkis every morning and many buses from Halkis to Athens every day.There is also a bus from Halkis to Vassilika every day at 2.30 p.m.When you arrive at the village of Vassilika we can collect you there by our car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 342367349798