Help keep the garden tidy and other home projects in Toronto, Canada

  • Favourited 295 times
  • Last activity: 17 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    Our home is in Toronto, a 20 minute ride to downtown on transit. My husband and I (mid 60's), are very busy with work as he runs a construction company and I am the office manager. As well we are very active in our volunteer activities which take many evenings and hours on the weekend. We have a small bungalow but a large perennial garden, and are just 2 blocks from access to the largest park system in Toronto.

    We will need help in the garden once it starts to grow in the spring, usually by the end of April to early May. This would entail digging, moving plants, weeding and cutting the grass. Some experience would be preferred. As well, help is needed with daily household cleaning and chores and again some experience with house cleaning would be good, as well as taking our spaniel for walks.

    Toronto is a very large cosmopolitan city with many attractions, nightlife, international cuisine and more. We are a short train ride south to Niagara Falls or north to great beaches in the summer as well as many activities in the winter such as skating and skiing just 2 hours north of the city.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Toronto is the 4th largest city in North America, and one of the largest multicultural cities in the world. Very nearly every ethnic group is represented here with their cuisine, culture and festivals. We have a world class zoo, aquarium, major league sports, art gallery, museums, and theatre productions. Toronto is a very green city with hundreds of kilometers of parks, bike and walking trails, beaches, streams and rivers.

    As neither my husband or I were originally from Toronto, we have been active tourists here over the past 40 years so can recommend a variety of activities to suit any taste. We also have 40 years experience teaching English as we volunteered in tutoring centres, so while we don't speak other languages, we can assist with the understanding of English.

  • Help


    The help needed is firstly helping to keep the garden tidy, cutting the grass, weeding. As well general housework such as dishes, sweeping floors, vacuuming, laundry and keeping the house tidy. Walking our small spaniel and interacting with him. There are projects that are helpful if time permits such as organizing the shed, laying bricks for a path etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a separate guest room with a raised double bed (there is storage under), that has a small desk, dresser and area for hanging clothing. This room is downstairs but has a south facing window so it is bright. We have a washer/dryer and also have an outdoor clothesline. We have a large deck in the backyard so there is a comfortable place to sit outside and BBQ.
    Food is provided and I will usually cook dinners but will appreciate any help at times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop just steps away that takes you to the main subway line. You can be downtown in 20 minutes or less. We are very close as well to major shopping outlets.
    While we recognize that Canada has legalized marijuana, we are not comfortable with having someone living in our home that uses it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    approximately 4-5 hours a day, 5 days

Host ref number: 341192393331

Feedback (15)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.7)

A single mom looking for an extra set of hands and eyes in a very nice area of Montreal, Canada
Help with carpentry, painting and gardening at our music-filled home in Gaspé, Canada