Ecofriendly family offering good food and proper accommodation- Munster, ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    293

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone, we are a family of 5 including our lovable dog. We are having a great time with all the workawayers we have hosted in the last months so we want to keep doing it, but as the big spare room in our house is taken, we can only host one person at a time, the available room is small with a single bed and very limited space, ideally for light travelers.
    We are currently looking for a workawayer that is willing to learn or that can do the following tasks on a regular basis:

    Kitchen work: food preparation, plan weekly meals, taking care of live cultures, making bread, making yogurt and kefir drinks

    Childminding: we have a very affective and energetic 3.5 years old boy and a very funny 1.5 year old baby girl. We try to follow the Waldorf system for their education and we are on the gentle parenting side. It is crucial that whoever comes to stay with us knows what we are talking about here.

    Walking Diesel our dog: He is mad about swimming and running free behind a ball, most of the time I’m just too tired to go out with him so 30min dedicated to him while you enjoy the local woods would be highly appreciated.

    Space organisation: having another perspective of our home , helps us lots to improve and achieve our goal of becoming minimalists, so feel free to tell us where could we start decluttering and organising.
    Tidying up the common areas like the kitchen, living room and landing would be your everyday job.

    Laundry/clothes tasks: we literally wash everyday since we have babies, we use cloth nappies and this increases the amount of washing. We need help with hanging clothes and taking them down when dry to put away. Knowing all the spaces in the house is very important so that you know how to place clothes after.

    Occasionally I would need your assistance to travel by bus with the kids (of course transportation is paid by us) and also some work in the garden when needed.
    If you enjoy arts and crafts, would be great to have some company in the evening when I usually focus on these kind of projects.

    We live in a small and quiet village that is not far from Cork city; we love the outsides, camping, going to the beach, going to festivals of all kind and of course going for walks to the different woods around us. We appreciate good food, I love cooking everyday and from scratch, and we are also a chemical free family (as possible as we can). We try to reduce our carbon footprint in our daily activities and we will encourage you to do the same. As a chemical free house we will appreciate you don't use lotions, deodorants, nail varnishes, hair dyes, etc.. instead we can provide you with all the natural alternatives we already use and of course we are open to suggestions. We will be very happy to assist you with the language, cultural adaptation, nutrition with good food, a cozy bedroom and some Pocket money when available.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Me being Mexican and my husband Irish, we speak English and Spanish at home, you will learn more about Irish culture and we will be very happy to show you the main attractions of Cork, possibly interesting festivals and of course our own eco friendly lifestyle, from which you will gain more health and peace. I make most of the cosmetic products in our home and I will be very happy to show you all about them. Also in the kitchen, I have more than 4 years experience with live cultures (kefir, sourdough, sauerkraut and yogurt) and you will involved in the maintenance and making of them.
    I put my heart in the kitchen, I believe that the kitchen is the centre of a home and you should expect not only delicious but well balanced meals. We try our best to buy only organic and local produce, and if you are worried about how will you be fed while you are away from your own home, have peace on mind that you won’t be hungry. WE ONLY EAT MEAT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK! And if you are vegetarian or vegan, we are more then happy to help you to maintain your diet going.
    We will encourage you to learn more about the Waldorf system to raise children in a more natural and peaceful way. We try to follow a very simple life in order to give space to a happier childhood for our babies, and in doing this, we realised we were gaining also time to connect to ourselves again. Being responsible of a child's wellbeing is always something that brings you back to your roots and helps you understand more about yourself, so do please take your time here with us as a life experience wether you plan on having kids or not ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    If you are a minimalist, we madly need you!! We have been on the decluttering journey for about 2 years now and we genuinely want to become minimalists.
    The working days start at around 7.30am with a break in the middle at around 11am. I think the dynamics in the house are dictated by the meals and the energy of the kids, so it makes more sense to explain work hours if first I explain meals:
    breakfast 8-9 ish am
    Lunch 12- 12.30pm
    Dinner 4pm
    Kids bedtime/upstairs time 6.30-7pm

    I expect to have your help for breakfast and after dinner. Of course you are not only welcome but encouraged to sit with us for all the meals :-)
    My husband works 3-4 days a week during night time, so would only need you to start at 7.30am only 3-4 days a week. The rest you can sleep as much as you want, and we can discuss when do you want to start your day with us.

    At around 9am we usually do some yoga, play music, do some crafts or just free play. By 11am or so I put my little one for a nap and I need someone to stay with my boy for a while (30min max I say). After that you are pretty much free but you are very welcome to share the common areas with us if you don’t want to go your room or go out.
    Then for dinner I can always use a hand, and your main job after dinner would be tidying up kitchen, living room, landing and clothes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the moment we only have the small room available, ideally for light travelers.
    single bunk bed with a relatively new mattress (2 years old) 100% wool filling and linen-cotton cover, firm and comfy. Space to organise your own clothes and top bed for extra storage. Look into our pictures to see your room ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Its a quiet village, a quiet house and we expect to keep things like this. We follow a very healthy and complete diet at home I think. but if we eat meat expect the best unprocessed local meat. ;-)
    There’s a bus every hour to the city, public transport in Ireland is quite expensive but we can provide you with at least 2 fares to the city a month. The bus to the city takes 20-30 min depending on the route it takes, and there’s also Midleton (big town) 7min away from our village where Aupair meetings happen on a regular basis, lots of pubs, shops and a local produce market.
    If you are willing to do more work, we will be happy to sit down and discuss some extra money.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Little Fiadh waiting for dinner
Two friendly rascals
The room we have available for the moment
Our pond at the garden





Host ref number: 337915912536