Help us rebuilding a farm using traditional methods and build up a community in Penig, Saxony, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 95 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    129

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm with four buildings and 0.6 ha of land was built 1802. I have bought it in 09/2009. Ever since then, work has never stopped and I try to rebuild it the old-fashioned way (lots of clay) and keep all I can. I also woke up the old farmer's garden again, where I grow veggies, herbs and old style plants. There is always plenty of jobs and projects to do. There are a lot of jobs in winter as well. We also like to sit near the fire and make music in the evenings in the summertime.

    I am currently also looking for people to join us and build a community here, because the farm needs people! At the moment, I share the house with a friend and usually have one other helpers here, too.

    I work part time (6 hrs a day) as a materials engineer to get the money in to rebuild the farm.
    I do not have a philosophy about life except live and let live and make the best out of what I have.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are learning by doing and have been restoring the house the old fashioned way. We got most of our info by research and from old books, people who told us and we are willing to share our information. You can learn how to work with clay, learn about herbs and veggies, pruning, woodworking, welding, electrics...
    I play the guitar and would love to have fellow musicians here so we can have a good time around the camp-fire on the weekends in the evening in summertime.
    The town of Penig has about 1000 inhabitants and is situated in middle Saxony along the river "Mulde between Leipzig (65km) and Chemnitz (15km). There are lots of interesting things to see around here and we like to take helpers on daytrips to some of our local castles or go geocaching.

  • Help

    Help

    At the momentwe need help with building wooden windows and plastering (clay) and general woodworking abilities to help inside on finishing rooms in our house and make some furniture.

    Garden help, harvesting, (according to season), prune and cut trees, make hay, build a sauna, cooking, household work, clay plastering work, building walls, joinery, making firewood, repair and make doors and windows, paint, build a clay oven, insulation, digging, make floors, lay electric cable, painting, and lots more. We have sheep, indian runner ducks and two dogs, so help with animal care is also appreciated.

    Help in the house with cleaning and cooking is also much appreciated!

    We like to take people on board for at least a month and longer, if it works out for everyone.
    If you are interested in staying and helping, please mention the code 'Erbsensuppe mit Speck' in your email!
    Cannot cook for vegans. My vegetarian cooking skills are ok as long as you are not picky. We usually eat lots of salad and veg from our garden so you will not starve. We expect you to work by yourselves as independently as possible. We obviously show you things but do not want to have to supervise you all the time.
    Smoking outside; smokers welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    medium size single room with french bed, double bunk bedroom, camping possible

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have done 2 years of WWOOF in Australia and Scotland 1999/2000 myself so I know the other side too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We work in the week and after work, we work on the house, the weekends are mostly spent working and playing, we expect you to work with us and take free days in the week.

Getting rid of the old cement floor in the former cowshed now bathroom
Chill
The herb spiral with herbs!
Around the camp fire
Trees need cutting and pruning
Dogs making sure I dont leave
Bathroom tiling
Karaoke at the Summerparty
Buiding a herb spiral
Digging a pond
The neverending To-Do-List
Painting with lime, quark (fromage blanc), milk, oil and egg!
Getting rid of ceiling material to uncover the original wooden beams
Restoration of the gable - replacing the timber

Host ref number: 332193127226