Language exchange and explore New York, NY USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 570 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    408

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️COVID-19 UPDATE*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️:
    ** Due to the travel restrictions, etc. we can only host international guests from places the USA is issuing tourist visas & allowing entry from (or, if you are already in the USA). We are also excited about the possibility of hosting US-based guests, even if they don't speak a foreign language, feel free to message us.

    We have lived in the NYC-area for 8-years and love the amazing number of things to do here: incredible restaurants, art, countless languages and cultures connected by subway and bus. We are a young international family of Mexico & Oregon with 4-year old and 1-year old daughters and we want improve our foreign language skills by practicing with native speakers. We also need help around our house, there is much to do as we both have busy schedules.

    Our requirements are below, please do not message us unless you meet all of these as we get many requests:
    1) We need to know the precise dates you are available in the title or first part of your response. We are only able to host guests who are able to stay 1-month or longer.
    2) We have some flexibility with scheduling around online classes, but for the most part we need our schedule to be the priority, guests normally help us Monday-Friday, 9am-2pm.
    3) We can not host anyone who smokes or vapes. We are not comfortable with these items around our family.
    4) You must be willing to cook healthy recipes.

    Generally we seek native speakers of French to read and converse with us, but are flexible. We like Chef's Table on Netflix and enjoy learning new recipes. We enthusiastically practice hot yoga (its only $8/class at Yoga to the People 38th St. NYC). Garrett spends time updating and repairing the house (built in 1895) including remodeling the basement (knowledge of carpentry is a *️️️️️️️️plus*️️️️️️️️). We love walking and picked this neighborhood because it was built before cars and it's only 15 minutes door to door from Times Square, New York City. You just walk a few blocks, hop on a bus and NYC is the next stop (go under Lincoln Tunnel). With COVID, there is also a ferry as a great alternative to the bus, as it is outside. Buses pass every minute during the day and run 24x7.

    New Yorkers work hard, solve problems, and carry a good attitude. We need these characteristics in guests living with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in Weehawken, NJ, a 10 minute bus ride to Times Square, New York City. NYC is one of the most competitive and diverse cities in the world. We can suggest all you are looking for and how to be efficient with money. NYC is also one of the most expensive cities so you should plan a budget of at least $20 for every day spent in NYC ($3.50 bus fare x2 trips, $2.75 subway fare x2 trips, etc.). Staying with us will save you a lot on rent and food but we still recommend a budget of $500-1,000 per month depending on what activities you want to enjoy. Our recent guests have spent around $800 per month. We live on a quiet, family friendly street, which is completely safe at all hours. Buses to the city run 24x7 and come every minute during the day and every 15-25 minutes after midnight.

  • Help

    Help

    We want guests who will proactively help around our house with cooking, cleaning, meal planning, organizing, and gardening like a member of the family. We live a fast paced life and need guests who are inspired by this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room. Shared kitchen and share 2 bathrooms. We will provide breakfast (eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc.), lunch (sandwich, soup, etc.), dinner (lentils, soup, pasta, pizza, salmon, chicken, etc.). We eat a lot of different meals. We can accommodate vegetarian/vegan, but our pots are used for meat. We are trying to eat more lentils.

    We get a lot of requests and may not be able to respond to all, sorry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    $3.50 bus ride to NYC, again its 5-minute walk to the bus, then NYC Times Square is the next stop, truly 15 minutes door to door. Our neighbor is ideal because you can enjoy the hustle-bustle of NYC and escape to our quiet, tree-lined street for a gentle night of sleep.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 319783592333