Come stay with me, and my lovely old dogs and rescue hens in County Laois, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    202

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Please check out the current restrictions and guidelines here ***


    I have moved back to my small house, just on the outskirts of a small village called Borris-In-Ossory in County Laois. I live with Princess who is a 14 yr old lurcher, Misty an 8 year old greyhound and 5 rescue hens Dorothy, Blanche, Rose Cagney and Lacey and a regularly visiting cat called Not-my-cat.

    *️*️*️What I need help with at the moment is
    housework: cleaning floors, decluttering, cooking
    gardening: general tidying and cleaning of the garden and helping to create a vegetable garden
    garage: decluttering and rearranging *️*️*️

    I hosted for a few years with my ex partner and his children, I moved back to my my small house over a year ago but between readjusting and restrictions I have not been hosting over this time. I am looking forward to hosting again and welcoming new friends to my home.


    My home is about 1 km outside of Borris-In-Ossory, Co Laois.
    26kms from Portlaoise town, Co Laois
    13kms from Roscrea town, Co Tipperary
    100kms from Dublin and 85kms from Limerick
    There are a number of local and regional busses which go through the town.
    I can drive you to nearby towns like Roscrea or Portlaoise if you want to catch a train or a bus.
    I would like to have the time to go sightseeing with you, perhaps to places not easily reached by public transport.

    At the moment I have one spare bedroom, it is a small room and has a double bed. I am in the process of organising my garage to accommodate the tools and materials I currently have in a larger room which will become a bedroom.

    I have a large garden and anyone with a tent or a camper is welcome to pitch up.

    I've clicked that I can accept more than 2 and also families because I don't want to exclude anyone and will always try to work around things to make it happen if someone really wants to stay with me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My home is in a rural part of Ireland, we do not get tourists in our village (unless they stop for fuel on their way somewhere else). While I have lived in other countries and enjoy learning about other cultures, my home is an Irish home and so is my hospitality. It is my honest hope that anyone staying with me will feel welcomed and part of my family.

    I speak English and Spanish and am happy to help with conversation in either.

    I am a qualified chef and am always happy to help anyone who wishes to learn more about cooking. I also have a large selection of cookery books.

    I am a mixed media artist and am currently studying to become an art and design teacher. I have many tools and materials I am glad to share and help learn, like a spinning wheel, light box, crochet, book making, painting, textile art, sewing machine, embroidery.....

  • Help

    Help

    I don't have any set length of time for visitors to stay but I think if a week was agreed on to start and we could extend if everyone was happy. Having said that, obviously I'm open to hearing visitors' ideas.

    I always have things that need doing, a lot are once off or not very regular and the others are daily things. It would be great if visitors really like the tasks we need help with, I wouldn’t like to have anyone feeling forced into doing tasks they don’t enjoy.

    ---Daily---
    General housework. (Tidying and cleaning kitchen, hanging clothes to dry, ironing, washing dishes....)
    Seeing to the animals, feeding, walking, cleaning
    Food prep/cooking.
    Tending to the garden.


    ---Current projects---
    Building additional fencing
    Establishing a new vegetable patch
    Pruning apple trees
    Sanding and painting some old furniture.
    Foraging wild foods to preserve, make jams, pickle........
    Decluttering garage
    Painting window sills and gate

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak English and Spanish and am interested in learning French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment I have one spare bedroom, it is a small room and has a double bed. I am in the process of organising my garage to accommodate the tools and materials I currently have in a larger room which will become a bedroom.

    You are also welcome to pitch your tent or park your camper.

    There is one bathroom.

    I don't have a TV but I do have WiFi

    Anyone staying with me is welcome to use the kitchen, washing machine, WiFi etc as they wish.

    I don't smoke and prefer not to have a lot of smoke in the house, but I don't mind smoking in the house if it is cold and/or wet outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...







  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have WiFi Network band 2.4 GHz Link Speed receive/transmit 144/72 (Mbps)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have enough space for campers and tents.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have an older female dog, Princess is 14 years old and Misty a #n 8 year old greyhound. A cat called Not-my-cat, who wanders around the place every now and then looking for some food. Also some rescue hens. Dorothy, Blanch, Rose, Cagney and Lacey. Your pets are very welcome and hopefully everyone will get along!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 313242984733