Beautiful quiet spot in gold country, El Dorado, CA USA,

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We need spring/summer help weeding, landscaping, more weeding, gardening and more weeding.

    We may also be open to a long term workawayer if it is a great combination.

    We are a queer owned creative artist sanctuary on a peaceful 10 acre property in California gold country on the Cosumnes River. It is an oak filled landscape, with a small house, several small outbuildings, and several gardens & art projects. We hope for it to become an accessible place for small gatherings that include sharing/teaching and creative isolation. This is not for profit, and I work full time from home. We don't sell what we grow but rather share with our neighbors, and we dont rent out the space, but like to share it with friends to get away from the city.

    We live in a small humble house and for our friends and future workawayers, we offer a rustic cottage and a treehouse sleeper where an outdoor kitchen is provided.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to share what we have learned, and hope to learn from others too as we still have so much to learn—about living sustainably, stewarding the land, DIY projects, gardening and landscaping.

    Organic Gardening / Landscaping:
    • composting
    • irrigation
    • raised beds
    • weeding
    • orchard maintenance
    • dormant sprays, winter pruning
    • summer pruning, thinning,
    • grafting
    • terracing
    • stone walls
    • fountains
    • path making
    • mowing/weed whacking
    • fencing

    We are a “wannabe farm”. Garlic is one of my favorite things to grow in the garden, and also grow tomatoes & cucurbits in the summer, and lots of brassicas (especially mustard and arugula) in the cold seasons. We also have lots of fruit trees, especially stonefruits, and I have been learning to graft stonefruits and pears. Between the deer, gophers, voles, and birds, growing can really be a challenge here and thwarting these critters has been a steep learning curve. After 10 years I still feel like I am just getting started there is so much to learn.

    DIY / Building:
    • basic carpentry
    • treehouse building
    • painting

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our biggest need for help is from April -August to get ready for fire season, and weeding is the #1 help we always need. We are always in the middle of gardening, landscaping, fencing and small DIY/building projects. Looking for people to bring their strength, creativity and skills for all sorts of projects. Summer is HOT! (usually cool in the early morning, 50-60 degrees and then steadily rising up to over 90-110F. Please be willing to get up early, work hard for a few hours to help get something done, then you can enjoy the rest of the day and relax. We can't always work alongside you, please be willing to listen carefully to what is needed and be able to work independently.

    • Weeding, Weed-whacking, raking, trimming trees and bushes. (fire season prep)
    • Fencing help (digging holes, pounding stakes, mixing concrete)
    • Planting (again hole digging, usually with pick-axe and spud bar because of the heavy clay and rock soil)
    • Making paths (Working with concrete, leveling/terracing soil, mulching, moving pavers, etc)
    • Building raised beds (basic carpentry, or using stones or retaining blocks)
    • Painting and general cleanup/maintenance

    If you are interested in doing art (murals, etc), please include samples of your work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an insulated guest cottage 100 yards up the hill with a comfortable full size bed but no electric. We also have a small, insulated studio with electricity and single bed. There are two composting toilets, outdoor shower (April-October), outdoor kitchen, and communal hang out space we call the pub. We also have a dedicated yoga/meditation space.

    We grow as much as we are able in our garden as organically as we can. We also try to shop as organic and local as we can. My partner leans toward meat eating and I try to eat more vegetarian, so we might have both options available.

    • Coffee ready early, but I like to fast in the morning, so food is self serve until then. (toast, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, fruit, Eggs / breakfast / lunch is DIY.

    • Dinner cooked and eaten together usually around 6-7 pm.

    Will try as hard as we can to accommodate special diet requests within reason.

    We have wifi / internet access and if you have at&t or a service that piggybacks from at&t you should get 4g/5g here on the property. Many cell signals, verizon etc, are iffy.

    Not the greatest washing machine but you are welcome to use it and hang things to dry.

    The house is a small humble abode where my partner and I work from home, often having work meetings, please be considerate of this space being off limits for us to work and have quiet.

    Things to bring:
    • set of full size sheets if possible, if not, no worries
    • sun hat, sun block
    • insect repellent (we also have sun block and bug spray to share at a sunblock and repellent station)
    • work clothes & boots/shoes (you will get dirty!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on the Cosumnes river with a beautiful swimming hole. The water temperature is very nice for swimming May–September. We are 15 minutes from Placerville, and 10 min from the Shenandoah wine tasting / vineyards (known for Barbera). We are on a quiet road great for bicycling (but a big climb to the top). It is best to have transportation to get into town.

    In our spare time, we relax, look to see the next wave of birds that have flown in for the season, work on art, and connect with our friends in the outside worlds. In the heat of summer, we spend much time in the river. We partake in beer and alcohol in moderation and out of respect to others, recommend yours is the same.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have starlink internet/wifi, but cell service is spotty. AT&T is fair, no verizon.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week or equivalent

Host ref number: 312915258477

Feedback (9)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)












Come and learn about earthbag building and permaculture living near Taos, New Mexico
Sunset Serenity: Embrace American Culture in SF, USA