Help us create a small off-grid farm in Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our small farm in rural Aberdeenshire, Scotland. We are Jamie and Niamh and we took over the farm at the end of 2020. We live here with 2 farm cats and a dog. We are a couple of hours drive from the Cairngorms and our farm is part off-grid. To be self sufficient, we generate our electricity with solar panels, water is from a spring and most of our heating is by burning our own firewood. The farm is a mix of hay fields, pond, woodland and our fruit / vegetable plots. We are surrounded by nature including owls, buzzards, herons, house Martin’s, swift’s and deer. The nearby coast is rich in sea birds, seals and otters. We have a lot of work to do in order to get the farm up and running again and we would love you to be a part of this! When we aren’t on the farm we like to be outdoors Stand Up Paddle-boarding, wildlife watching, hiking, camping etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We want to share our knowledge of working with the land to be self sufficient and living as eco-friendly as we can. At the same time we would like to hear about your ideas and ambitions. We both have an interest in the history of Scotland and the surrounding area and can share this. Prior to taking on the farm we both travelled to different parts of the world and love talking about the places we have been and where we would like to go to! Niamh is also a passionate folk musician and can teach a variety of instruments.

  • Help

    Help

    To get our farm up and running we need your help! We can offer help and guidance for these tasks but some past experience would be useful. Some of the tasks involve heavy lifting and working outside in bad weather. It’s not all bad though! In return for your help we can teach you new skills, provide hot meals, accommodation and hopefully have fun!

    Some tasks might include:
    Looking after pets- cats and dog
    Helping build our vegetable growing Polytunnel
    Sowing / harvesting vegetables and fruit
    Canning, preserving our produce
    Hay/ silage cutting
    Grass / hedge cutting / general gardening
    Repairing fencing
    Repair wildlife pond
    Help complete the chicken coop and run
    Clearing out the old farm buildings
    Restoration of some buildings- replacing cement, painting.
    Woodland work- tree planting, coppicing, tree felling, chainsaw work, firewood processing.
    Looking after livestock- we will be adding sheep, chickens and maybe pigs in the future.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private, clean room in the main house. This spare room has recently been redecorated and has a new bed, linen etc. You will have your own double bed, heater and electricity points. A shared bathroom with a shower is also provided (along with towels). To save water we normally go for 1 shower a day each. Food will be provided with three meals a day and we will all gather round the kitchen to eat and chat. We cook mostly vegetarian food with the odd meat / fish dish as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a lot of countryside and remote beaches to explore! Further afield we have the Cairngorms and larger city of Aberdeen or Inverness. You are welcome to join us (and the dog!) for days out where we can go hiking, wildlife watching stand up paddle boarding or just exploring! The nearest small shop is around 4 miles away, there is also a bus stop there. We can give you a lift to these if we aren’t too busy on the farm.

    We aim to treat volunteers with respect and pass on our skills and knowledge. In return we ask you to treat us and the farm with respect. We do not tolerate excess alcohol consumption, smoking or drugs of any kind. This also means cleaning up after yourself, helping with the odd house cleaning task and generally taking a ‘can do’ attitude. We can pick you up from the nearest Airport or Train station (Aberdeen). We want you to enjoy the experience and gain a sense of satisfaction from it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 295397793823