Help with our ecological project at a working permaculture farm in Puivert, France

  • France
  • Favourited 668 times
  • Last activity: 4 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi everyone, Its Mark and young Sirius here at the farm.
    We are taking people during these strange times, so please contact us we are open to receive people..!
    Everyone here has had the Covid19 (me 3 times) and we are well and healthy..!
    We encorage people to take good care of themselves so as to have strong immune system :-)

    A Quick Note: The shower has been disconected as we are working on that building. Their are possibilyts for washing;

    We are taking much longer in replying to people ( a choice to be not always conected) so please be patient ( not easy for some in this age of instant communication).
    We are 100% off-grid now and enjopying it. We are growing most of our own food ( it feels good ).

    It is still quite basic here at the farm and i am looking for independent people, with the key word being autonomie.
    I belive autonomuse people can create comunity. That doest mean we dont need one another and our exchanges.
    I means we are not dependent upon one another.!

    OK, Here goes:

    Aloha, I'm Mark and I invite you to come and discover our project:

    An ecological place, sharing knowledge, creating social ties, a solidarity, cultural and festive place
    This is a preserved place, in the heart of the Pyrenees Audoises. A land of 6 hec and buildings, abandoned for 30 years, revive and welcome the beautiful and ambitious project of Mark and young Sirius.


    Aloha, je m"apelle Mark et je vous invite a venir et devouvrir notre project:

    Un lieu écologique, de partage de connaissance, créateur de lien social, un lieu solidaire, culturel et festif
    Est un lieu préservé, au cœur des Pyrénées Audoises. Un terrain de 6 hec et des bâtiments, abandonnés depuis 30 ans, revivent et accueillent le superbe et ambitieux projet de Mark et jeune Sirius.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our region is rich in culture and stories, we are in the heart of Cathar country. At this time we arez in partnership with another local cultural organizations and we help to organizes events like: Festival of the troubadours (in puivert), The path of the artists (haute valle d'aude), The farm in farm and other events all the year long . We are 1km from the castle of Puivert in the region which bathes in the majic, mystical and cruel ending history of the Cathars.
    We also will be opening a citizen's / associative cafe (when we get around to it) in one of the barns, a place for exchange and sharing of knowledge
    If you like walking, cycling, it is an ideal place for you (I always have bikes available for visitors. There are lakes nearby 4km and 9km, horse riding in the village, possibilities are not exhaustive .......
    Ok see you soon, all the best Mark..!

    Notre région est riche en culture et histoires, nous sommes dans le coeur de pays cathare. Nous au temps de partenariat avec d'autres organisations culturels du coin aide et organise évènement come: Le festival des troubadours, Le chemin des artistes, Le ferme en ferme et d'autres évènement tout le long de l'année. Nous sommes a 1km du châteaux de Puivert dans région qui baigne dans le majic, mystique et cruel histoire des cathares.
    Nous ouvrons egalement un cafe citoyen/associative (quand en aurrai du temps) dans un des granges , un lieux d'echange et partage des connaissances
    Si vous aimer marcher, faites du vélo, c’est un endroit idéal pour vous (Jai toujours les vélos disponible pour visiteurs. Il y a des lacs a proximité 4km et 9km, les balades a cheval dans le village, les possibilités sont non exhaustive.......
    Ok a bientôt, Mark..!

  • Help


    At the moment we are looking for people to help us with: Gardening (to feed everyone who come to lend a hand). Clearing land (after being empty for 30 years, it's a jungle). The renovation of the various buildings (most of the roofs have fallen in). Installation of the solar panels and a generator that will run on cooking oil (recycled and filtered). Help with my son who is 11 years old, a happy soul ! And various tasks on the farm periodically ....

    The Key Word the Discribes the Farm is "Autonomy"
    ( i feel that autonomus people can come together to creat comunity)
    We are all individuel cells in a greater growing expanding living organism called humanity.!

    En ce moment nous cherchons les gens pour aider avec: Le Jardinage ( pour nourrir tout le monde qui viens prêter le main ). Débroussaillage ( après être vide pendent 30 ans, c’est un jungle ). La rénovation des divers bâtiments ( le plus part des toitures sont a terre ). L'installation des panneaux solaire et un group électrogène qui va rouler à l’huile de friture (recycler). Aide avec mon fils qui a 9 ans ( so cute ) ! Et divers taches a la ferme périodiquement....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Mobile home or Camping at the farm:
    At the moment we have installed four mobile homes. One is my space, another my sisters and there are two for visitors.
    We have plenty of space for tentes.
    We provide full meals (mostly vegetarian) and ask each person to do there share of cooking and cleaning (as they go), if you do have special dietery needs please let us know in advance.
    We have no shower at the moment and we are putting watering cans in the greenhouse to warm up in the daytime until the new solar shower can be built..! We also use a compost toilet.
    So if you have any knowledge about making an "efficient" shower , please come and share..!

    Mobil home ou camping à la ferme:
    En ce moment, nous avons installé quatre maisons mobiles. L'un est mon espace, un autre est a ma soeur et il y en a deux pour les visiteurs.
    Nous avons beaucoup d'espace pour les tentes.
    Nous fournissons des repas complets (souvent végétariens ) et demandons à chaque personne de faire sa part de cuisine et de nettoyage (au fur et à mesure), si vous avez des besoins spéciaux en matière de diététique, veuillez nous en informer à l'avance.
    Nous n'avons pas de douche en ce moment et nous mettons des arrosoirs dans la serre pour se réchauffer pendant la journée jusqu'à ce que la nouvelle douche solaire puisse être construite ..! Nous utilisons également des toilettes à compost.
    Donc, si vous avez des connaissances sur la réalisation d'une douche "efficace", venez et partagez!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can pick people up from Esperaza on a sunday morning at the market. . Their is a 1€ bus from Carcassonne to Esperaza/Quillan and a 1€ bus from Perpignan to Quillan (number 100) please be on time if possible or let us know how your progressing as its a 45mins round trip, thank you..!

    I am sorry to say but we will no longer be acceping people with dogs ( after some bad experiences ).

    Our full adress is: Le Barraquet, Route e la Peyrouse, 11230 Puivert, France
    ( iv put a marquer on google maps).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We Have a Limited Satalite Conection that works well, fueled by the sun :-) We Are Consciously Not Connected electronically and work towards a healthy conection to the Earth .!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 294713946111

Feedback (13)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

Help create a permaculture garden, look after my horses and my daughter born in 2016 near St Cirq-Lapopie, France
Enjoy your own cottage helping a British family living in an old farmstead near the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat, Dordogne, France