Come and help with my dogs and enjoy nature in Hammerdal, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Robert living in Sweden with my 16 Alaskan sled dogs, I have had a fall and this broke my leg, and so now I have Pins and plates holding my bones together, I also damaged both my hands, so caring for my dogs is difficult at this time.
    I live out of town, about 18 minutes out of the small town of Hammerdal, which has everything you need day to day living otherwise we re surrounded in wilderness and open spaces.
    Östersund is a bus ride away, and has all the things big towns have to offer. (You can tell I prefer the country side)
    For the moment, the dogs are near Trondheim in Norway, in a tourist kennel, friend of mine (Norway husky adventure kennel). During the winter, you will work there with the dogs: feeding and cleaning, and helping with the tourists: going for the tour as a guide, so you will learn how to drive your own sled!
    For the moment I don't know how long it will take with my leg. If I'm better in summer, my dogs come back to my house in Hammerdal. There I need help to take care of the dogs and the puppies, going out for a walk with the dog... And also house painting, help to cut grass...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you about training dogs for long distance running and I can talk to you about horse dentistry, as I am fully qualified, and this is my part time job.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help mostly with caring for the dogs, feeding, water and pooper scooping and keeping them happy and healthy. You will also help as a guide in a tourist kennel, so after your stay you will be able to drive your own sled.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, sweden

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In Hammerdal: You will share my home, a traditional Wooden Swedish house, you will have your own space to sleep and take time out, otherwise live a little like family. It is a simple home but that is all that is I need. There are at times dogs in the house.
    In the tourist kennel: You will share a house with the other workawayers. I will often visit you, share a cup of coffee, take you to groceries, and telling you stories about my dogs and the world of mushing! The owner is coming to this house with her family on the week end.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have snow soon, and very cold temperatures coming, this is a good place for taking some time out and enjoying nature. You will have time to read, hike, be with the dogs, or explore the country, on snow shoes or your welcome to bring x country skis with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 291992836628