We are looking for French, Spanish or English speaking people to improve our language knowledge in Walkringen, Switzerland

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Are you experienced in either gardening or cooking meals independently? Would you like to visit Switzerland and our family? We are a family of six (42, 41, 15, 12, 8 and 6) who live simply and uncomplicated in a house in the countryside. We also have a dog (Bohemian Shepherd, 3yrs) a young cat (<1yr) and some chicken. We are almost vegetarians, as we eat meat extremely rare. When we buy food usually look after seasonal, organic and environmental sustainability is generally quite important to us in all concerns. We are a homeschooling/unschooling family, that means our kids are around during the day. We are looking for people who like to speak and play with our kids in English or French for them to practice foreign languages. We can host couples or female workawayers only.

    We live pretty close (30-40 minutes by train) to Bern, the capital City and Thun (Berner Oberland -> where are a lot of famous mountains and sightseeing places). The next train station is around 500m to our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have your freetime, where it will be possible to discover lots of very typical swiss places. If you are interested, and when its possible, you also can join some of our outdoor activities.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Your main task will either be:
    - cooking one meal per day, cleaning up the kitchen after meals and spending time with our children (playing, reading, going out for a walk with them...)
    or:
    - gardening, weeding and being creative in our backyard. Some years ago we moved here and there is still a lot to do around the house, as you can see on some pictures. If you are experienced in gardening, you can feel free, removing weeds, planting new plants and being creative to help us make a nice place out of our surroundings.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak German. English and French are our second languages and we like to practice our knowledge. Our kids have different levels in their second language skills. (The older the kids, the better the foreign language skills. ;-))

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be accommodated in a room in an own room in our flat.

    In this room, there is a bunkbed (two separate beds on top of each other)

    We are also warmly welcoming workawayers with kids. If so, we could put one more big matress on the floor. You need just to be aware of the small space for your family, I think more than 3-4 people would't be comfortable anymore. Our experience has shown that for families to stay with our family around one week is perfect, more than 10 days will be quite stressful for all the kids... ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    It depends about what you need... you will have your own room, there will be good internet connection 24/7. But you need to be aware, that there are a lot of places in the world where there is more quiet and silence, than an old house with a lot of people and children.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If you travel by campervan, please ask first, if there will be a free parking space for the time you intend to come.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We actually would warmly welcome people with pets, but you have to ask first if it is possible, it depends about the situation and which kind of pet...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 291776734294

Feedback (14)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.7)

















Help create a food forest and conscious garden in our yoga & health centre in Crésuz, Switzerland
Share a very simple life on a small farm in the Swiss mountains, in the middle of the Naturpark Gantrisch