Help with my adorable son and home SW France Beach community

Country

France

Favourited 608 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Everyone, I'm sorry my reply rate is so low...I sometimes don't come here for months and when I do the mailbox is full, it's overwhelming, I'm not a huge social media guy so again, my sincere apologies if we don't connect.

    Meanwhile, if you take a look and think we are a good fit, please reach out and contact me and if the universe permits, we'll meet...meanwhile, take a look, see what you think, thanks.

    We are father and 9 year old amazing son. We are a team who eat organic, love outdoors, nature, most sports and traveling, animals, art, music and dance. I'm from California living in France co-raising my son, he is French/American, I have him every other week. I think beginning September that will change to full time. We are athletes, no smoking or drugs, I like a glass of nice wine. Our outdoor passions are sea, surf, snowboard, skiing, cycling and soon to be campers which gets us traveling as often as possible. We also play tennis, martial arts, skate, basketball, baseball. My home is quiet and peaceful, no drama. My son is amazing and sweet and very chill. We recently lost our 4 legged mascot Jersey, I'm not sure about my plan for another, I'll see what the universe throws me but for now, the first time in my life, we are without a pet. I could use help around my house to make it more a home, female guests or couples are preferred for that "touch". I offer a clean quiet well located house (3 blocks from the beach, a few miles from 2 lakes) in a cool community, Biscarrosse Plage, with good meals, usually fast internet, etc.

    I work from home and sometimes need to travel, I'm a trader in the financial markets as well as run a humanitarian project in Panama working with indigenous people.

    This is a non smoking home and a request for non smoking guests only. we search for Workaway guests min 2-3 months or longer preferred, our most recent guest had just celebrated 2 years with us, our last three guests were here for 6 months or longer and that seemed to work out very nicely for my son as well as the guests.

    We offer healthy, environmentally friendly, organic/bio lifestyle, hopefully you find these things interesting and of value. We are mostly raw and vegetarian, some fish my son asks for animal products i.e. dairy, eggs, chicken.

    If you are musically inclined, artistic, spiritual, yoga, nature or animal lover, all a plus. We invite you to practice French or English with us, I can teach you a to trade currencies as well offer you to partake in all of our sports from biking, surfing, snowboarding, camping, exploring, hiking as well as arts, crafts, DIY home projects. I like to do big mosaic pieces as well as build custom furniture and invent/create little things for the home, I'm always interested to collaborate and share my crafts and experiences with our guests and to learn theirs.

    I have my son Satya 15 out of 30 days per month, again, this is slated to change soon I believe but for now basically every other week. Mon-Fri I could use help. I get my son off to school each morning then begin trading London session on the Foreign Exchange. I can get tied up during lunch so I need help for the lunches and most dinners on school days. I trade 3-4 days a week typically but some weeks 5 days, I end Friday so often for about 72 hours I can take over a lot of the needs for food and home care these times.

    I need help preparing simple meals for him, kitchen, household, shopping, etc.. I look for guests who will have a nice meaningful impact on my son, maybe through music, creative or artistic projects, nature walks, trips to the beach, etc. We have a lot of art supplies and some stuff for music and almost always have one or more art projects going on.

    Our home is typically clean and I think generally organized.

    The schedule is typically 5 days a week, 4-5 hours a day, most important when my son is with me, weeks without him are more flexible of course.

    Things we find enjoyable and or interesting are non smokers, simplicity in our day, food, etc., We are artsy, health conscious, environmentally friendly, clean/tidy, happy, outgoing, athletic, foodies, on a quest to share and gain knowledge with others, as little drama as possible :) and as many smiles as possible.

    I have business needs as well if you are interested we could discuss those, i.e. social media, wordpress and designs, etc.

    That's basically it, there is a project in Panama where I work with indigenous people, there I planted a garden on land I have and am using that as my master garden for supplying the seed/genetics for community gardens and eventually many many private gardens. If this is also something you are interested in there is a chance for nice exchanges of info, conversations and even to visit that property and be part of the project one day in the future if you like.

    I know just a little about medicinal herbs, natural medicines and remedies.

    We do enjoy learning new things so if you arrive with experience/interests we/I are very interested to listen and learn anything from music, art, all types, to cooking, to permacuture, herbal/essential oils/flower therapies, ecology, etc. I know a little about yoga, I practiced Hatha, Iyengar, Vinyasa, Kundalini, Ashtanga.

    We are definitely looking for easy fits, like minded people, eyes open, respectful of the planet and all inhabitants, on a path, willing to share and the ability to care. My son is my #1 priority…I'm a focused and dedicated father looking for people to come into his already amazing life and add value and substance to it. I hope to find nice role models who we can make long term connections with.

    And if you made it this far, one more time I'll say it, we are a QUIET home, it's a nice vibe, no drama, a place to better your English and or French, time in nature, we're a great spot to land. Everything is close. We have plenty of good bikes to use.

    Thanks again for reading, I know this is lengthy…hopefully we paint a clear picture, namaste~

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Coming here you will be exposed to French and English as well as our sports life which ranges from surfing, snowboarding, skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, biking all the time, tennis, basketball, soccer, swimming and maybe even sailing this year as well as camping, exploring, mushroom collecting in season (Ceps/Pocini primarily) as well as travel and a wide range of arts, crafts, DIY projects and mosaic and furniture building.

    We're also pretty tapped into alternative medicine, alternative living lifestyles, permaculture, organic growing, and environmental consciousness.

    I also have a humanitarian project we are working on in Panama which you can inquire about, there are endless needs regarding that project. Right now we need a worpress website set up. There will also be several trips there this year, all permaculture orientated.

  • Help

    Help

    I seek on going work away guests, again, preferably one month or longer. On my weeks with my son I need someone to help me with home and childcare, 2-3 hours a day, 15 days a month. There is also some housework, cooking and, If you know and can teach yoga, healing knowledge, have a spiritual side, all a huge bonus.

    I offer you a room, maybe shared with another workaway guest, ask, we usually don't but for crossover sometimes if both guests agree we will do it for a week or so.

    Location is great, we are a few blocks from a very nice beach, and a few kilometers from a nice lake. There are several bikes you can use, depends on your size and level/desire for biking but I have great bikes. I will feed you well, we eat organic, I'm a good cook (so says my 8 year old son) and I keep a well stocked home. If you can cook and want to we can work together on menu, that's always greatly appreciated.

    My son speaks French and English, he is a very nice, polite, respectful of your boundaries, adorable kid, easy going, great little conversationalist, can help you with French or English.

    We search for nice energy, someone open minded, with a desire to learn his routine and stick to it, connect on a very nice level with my son by adding value to his already amazing life. Projects, art, music, dancing, languages, discovering, nature walks, games…as much time off computer and away from TV as possible. We have a TV, and I prefer to keep him off it.

    We do many little interesting projects throughout the year, ceramic, painting, silver bracelets, wood working, etc. You are welcomed to share any crafts you have with us as well as be part of ours. I travel, when I'm away you have this place to yourself, the rest of the time you get to hang out on a pretty cool beach. Summers are loaded with tourists, winter the town sort of shuts down, quiet, lots of nature, beaches all to yourself, endless trails and forests, nice sunsets…we like it.

    We travel on most holidays, in the winter typically snowboarding/skiing, you are welcome to join us, in summer we head to other beach destinations usually in the USA, we like camping and road trips.

    My home is QUIET, humble and clean and has everything you need. It's 3 bedrooms, you have your own bedroom or shared depending if there is another workaway guest, we all share the bathroom and the shower room, they are separate.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English first language, my son speaks fluent French/English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small 3 bedroom home in a cool beach community, a few blocks from the beach, you have a nice well lit bedroom with large windows and a queen size bed or comfy queen size sofa bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to do on your time off, beach which means surf and all water sports. We also have a lake a short distance, very nice and peaceful. The nightlight is OK, it's not Paris but places to have a few drinks, meet locals, shoot pool, etc. In the winter it is quiet, but again, there is a nice core group of locals you can meet and hang with if you are social and so inclined.

    Bordeaux is 45-60 minutes away, everything you need is there. Small version of Paris…lots of weekend getaways, Barcelona and Paris is 6 hours, the Pyrenees mountains 3 hours, other nice beaches. I travel with my son to the mountains as often as possible in the winter, you are welcome to come.

    My home is quiet as I'm raising my son here. I look for someone respectful, quiet, who is here more for the day life, beach, nature, etc and not so much the nightlife.

    Thanks for reading…namaste~

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

Skiing in Suisse alps
Lake Tahoe CA backcountry
Satya snowboarding Spain - Pyrenees 2015
10,000 piece mosaic Santa Teresa Costa Rica
600 hour mosaic project redwoods N CA
Skiing Mt Shasta CA 3 years old
Little ripper….Cape May NJ 2014
Mushroom season 2014 France
Father son time summer 2015
Cousins dancing Sea Isle City NJ 2015









Host ref number: 284295282966