Help us build the wedding venue of our dreams at our home in Taranaki, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Chris and Errol, a married couple in our 50s living on a 10-acre slice of paradise in Taranaki, New Zealand.
    We are in the throws of building a wedding venue for our daughter, on our property.
    We would love your help with home maintenance, gardening and property improvement.
    We are usually based at home during the day, and will either be working with you or delegating tasks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Taranaki is a coastal region on the western side of New Zealand's North Island.
    We know the area like the back of our hands and can’t wait to show you all it has to offer.
    Whether you like beaches, mountains, art galleries, cafes or cycling - Taranaki truly has it all.
    It’s New Zealand’s best-kept secret.
    There are a host of events in Taranaki throughout the year such as Festival of Lights, the musical festival WOMAD, plus countless concerts and art exhibitions.
    We live minutes from Inglewood Village (which has everything you need) and the city of New Plymouth is a 20-minute drive.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love your help with home maintenance, gardening and housework.
    We are usually based at home during the day, and will either be working with you or delegating tasks.

    There are a huge range of tasks - from beginners’ tasks e.g. weeding and cleaning, to tasks that require specific skills.
    The standard amount of help we ask of you is four hours a day, five days a week. However, we are happy to negotiate these hours if you like to work longer days e.g. two eight-hour days and one four-hour day, having the remaining days free to explore the region.
    We are new to workaway, but familiar with the programme, as our son and daughter-in-law have hosted several travellers at their house and had a blast.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our spacious, warm and sunny house has plenty of room to host travellers comfortably.
    We have four adult children who have all left home and are dotted around New Zealand with their partners.
    For now it’s just us, our lovely cat Millie and our alpacas.
    We have a stream running through our property, with views of the picturesque Mount Taranaki.
    We are a fun-loving couple that enjoys hosting people, playing games, having meals and coffee together or simply relaxing with a movie or book.
    All meals will be provided, either cooked by us or by yourself (with us providing ingredients). You will have access to a full kitchen if you would like to cook.
    As our property is rural, you must have your own vehicle to come and stay with us.
    No smokers, please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Lovely couple from the USA!
Our first workawayers from France
Mount Taranaki
Our alpaca family!
Host ref number: 275842614231