Art, creativity, culture, and homeschooling in Udaipur, Rajasthan - India's Venice

Country

India

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2256

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hang out with an organic, natural living artistic homeschooling intercultural expat family in Udaipur, Rajasthan and experience the heart and soul of India's amazing traditional culture. We're definitely hippies by corporate standards (of course, by such standards India is, too!), but no dreads and only a tiny bit of tattoos, so you can still tell your mother about us ;-)

    About us:

    We're super laid-back and easy-going. We hang out, joke around, have meals sitting on the floor, cos who needs tables. Read: No formalities here! We also won't be holding a timer to see how much time you're in "duty mode" :-) We take each day as it comes - all we ask is that you're fair in contributing what we require! :-)

    What you should definitely know about us is that we have a terrifying sleeping schedule: We try to go to bed by 12am, but often don't until 10am. Not that it means we'll disturb you when you're sleeping...but you would have to adjust your free time in such a way that schedules sync. That might mean evenings or early mornings, depending on what you prefer, but it also means you'll have much of the day for yourself. However, we're always making new-week resolutions to change our schedules around, so who knows - maybe we'll have managed that by the time you get here :-p

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Experience the India most travellers never do: Away from the tourist trap, there where real life happens!
    - Recommendations on cool things to do and places to go that's not in the guidebooks
    - Cooking, Indian and otherwise (one of us is a professional chef, and the other two consider themselves incredibly lucky :-))
    - Art (any medium) and design (architecture, interior)
    - Anything marketing, writing-editing, or cryptocurrency/blockchain related
    - Experience the life of an intercultural, semi-expat homeschooling family (it's a fun circus :-))

  • Help

    Help

    We're a writer-artist South African-Indian couple. Our 12yo son is homeschooled and into "cool stuff". If you're looking for a place to chill out and get to know the real India, we're in the heart of it!

    What we're looking for:

    Someone to hang with our son for a few hours a day. He's very independent and, as he likes to say, has his "own life, you know!" so it's not a full-time thing and you'll have plenty of free time to explore the city or relax at home.

    What we need from you:

    He's a gamer and a YouTuber and gets very chatty when it comes to tech and science. (He corrected me when proofreading this and said that's not true, he's chatty in general - so consider this a head's up!) He's also well on his way to becoming a pun master. He already has dabbing down to an art, and is a walking meme encyclopedia.

    (We'd love you extra hard if you can get him OFF the computer and into the real world, especially by exposing him to cool skills he can get into.)

    Overall, we're looking for someone who's equal parts (or not so equal - some of us are terrible mathematicians, so no counting or measuring!) brainy and cool.

    Specifically, there are some skills he'd like to learn and although we wouldn't expect or even want you to *️️️️️️️️️️️teach*️️️️️️️️️️️ him, it would be awesome if you could do a few small projects together so he can get the hang of it and, more importantly, the confidence to keep working at it long after you're gone. But we're very open to other suggestions based on your skills and experience...let us know.

    If you're clued up on at least one of the below, or have any other cool ideas, hit us up!

    Stuff he's into (or would like to get into):

    Software:

    - Adobe Illustrator (which he's already been teaching himself)
    - Adobe Photoshop
    - Adobe After Effects
    - 3D modelling software Blender (or an equivalent if you have experience with something else)

    Skills/Interests:

    - Coding
    - Stop-animation videos
    - Papercraft (Star Wars models and Minecraft figurines, not greeting cards!)
    - Electricity
    - Science
    - Chemistry
    - Math

    Anything else you can recommend

    No teaching or anything remotely education-related; think of it as big brother time! (We prefer males - just because that's what he'd prefer at this age - but would consider a woman if you have skills he'd like to learn! The young padawan in the house considers this to be a sexist statement and asks that I apologise on his behalf.)

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️When you write, tell us what you have in mind in terms of shaping the mind of this here youth of tomorrow.*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️
    Sharing social media links so we can stalk you around the net trying to unearth any serial killer shots won't hurt, either ;-)

    P.S. Although we're not looking to host families, we've also done Workaways as a family and know it's not always easy to find a gig that accepts the whole clan, so we'd definitely consider it based on whether we can host you at the time, provided our kids are within an age range that they could spend time together.

    P.P.S. For the same reason, while we generally won't accept last-minute stays (planning and all that adultism), we have, ourselves, been in tight spots during Workaways when it was last minute or die. Well, who wants to go over to the dark side. So while we can't guarantee a yes, and our own circumstances would more likely than not make us go no, asking's still free. You never know :-)

    (We get a lot of requests from WorkAwayers who a) don't fit the bill at all and b) clearly didn't even read our profile to begin with. Please include "Pandalf" in your letter so we'll know we're square on what's been written here ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hindi, Afrikaans, Marwari

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Amenities:

    Our house is modern, bright, and spacious. You'll have your own private room (equipped with a ceiling fan and water cooler) and an en suite Western bathroom (shower only, finding a bath in this country is akin to winning the lottery!), and full use of the kitchen (modern, with a gas stove - no oven, which is not the norm in India).

    Our bedrooms are Indian-style with mattresses much thinner than Western standards, which you should be used to if you've travelled elsewhere in India or Asia, but is an adjustment if you haven't. (P.S. The photo of the bed is representative, as it's what we sleep on. We do have sponge mattresses which are thicker (yet still pretty thin if you're used to Western beds!). We will provide you with one of those to sleep on.

    Wifi is fast (by Indian standards), and unlimited.

    We have a washing machine for doing laundry.

    Should you wish to make use of a gym during your stay, we can negotiate with our local gym for a short-term package. Cost to be covered by you.

    Re wildlife: Apart from India's quadrillion-odd population of cows and street dogs, you'll find - depending on the season - geckos, frogs, mosquitos, and flies. We try our best to keep the latter two out (the former two are harmless, and quite adorable), but keep in mind that we are where we are and this is part and parcel of travelling!

    Meals:

    We cook once or twice a day, depending on the day. You're welcome to eat with us at that time. At other times, you can use the kitchen to cook for yourself using whatever is available in the house. Our diet consists of mostly vegetables and fruit (all organic and pesticide-free), with legumes, pulses, rice, and gluten-free flour like chickpea to complete meals. Should you wish to cook yourself alternative meals, food is highly affordable here.

    We're vegetarian and, similar to most vegetarian households in the country, no meat is allowed in the house. You can find meat in select restaurants or street food vendors around the city. Alcohol is not allowed on the premises.

    We're happy to accommodate you if you're vegan, but it's important to note that we do use milk products in the house. A gluten-free diet we'll happily cater for.

    Disclaimer (not that you don't know this, but what else are T&Cs for but to state the obvious :-)):

    We ask that you maintain basic living and hygiene standards, which means cleaning up after yourself or lend a hand if we all jump in for a quick clean-up. (We do have a cleaner who comes in every two days.) And, since we all love the planet we call home, switch off lights, fans, and appliances when not in use :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About the area:

    We live in a suburb close to, but not right next to, the tourist area (Udaipur is small enough for everything to be within a 10-minute drive radius!). This means you'll be able to experience local culture the way the Old City doesn't allow for, and (apart from us) would likely be the only foreigner in the area. (Do note that it means you'll attract quite a bit of attention, but that's inevitable all over India!)

    Our suburb is situated right next to the local forest area, close to a number of villages on the outskirts, and en route to Monsoon Palace. If you want to travel around during your time off, transport is a cinch: There are bike rentals, and Ola, Uber, and auto rickshaws are all within a 2-minute walk.

    We'll also take you to a few amazing places during your stay here :-)

    About Udaipur:

    Known as India's Venice and one of the country's most popular wedding and honeymoon destinations, the city is a lake-dotted gem where the remnants of the Maharajas of old can still be seen and explored (you can watch the Monsoon Palace come to life after sunset from our rooftop), and there is, in fact, still a living king of Udaipur!

    Rajasthani culture, the typical India you see on TV, is still widely practised here, and apart from the fascinating culture, you can spot the odd elephant or camel in the streets. Lots to see, lots to experience, and lots to learn!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 267521334413