Come join our family and enjoy Edmonton, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/02/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Kathleen and I have two kids- a 20 year old at University and a 4 year old. We live just outside of Edmonton in a community called Sherwood Park.
    My older parents also live with me in a separate suite.
    I am a Christian and have worked as a pastor and in the non profit sector serving the marginalized. I have been fortunate to travel throughout much of the world and have experienced rich hospitality.
    My 4 year old is actually my niece and she has special needs as a result of her mother being a drug addicted. I need some help with her. As well, my parents are older. My father is blind and my mother had mobility issues.
    I have a large house and need help with childcare, dog walking, house keeping, meal prep and Yard work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be a part of our family. You will learn about our family customs, about special need kids and the area of Canada that we live in

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping with childcare is the most important. My niece goes to pre-school 2 days a week, and on the other days is at home. Helping her with behaviours and managing her impulsivity is needed. Playing with her, teaching her the alphabet, taking her to the park.

    As well, general housekeeping, yard work, meal prep and dog walking are all appreciated

    Note: due to Covid you will need to have a Covid test before arriving at our home and be willing to limit your contacts while staying with us.

    We are a non- smoking home with zero tolerance for drug usage. A criminal record check is also needed

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large private room with balcony and own bathroom.

    You are welcome to help make dinner and eat with us each evening. For breakfasts and lunches you can help yourself to food available. We eat a wide range of food including meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Edmonton is a lovely city to explore with a beautiful river valley, great dining and a range of places to visit. We are 4 hours from jasper and the mountains.
    We live about 2kms from the bus station. From there you can take busses into Edmonton and explore the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 249583689992