updated  

Help with gardening in beautiful mountains of Kvikkjokk, Sweden

  • Favourited 95 times
  • Last activity: 1 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Join Our Family in the Swedish Wilderness!

    I haven’t always lived in the cold – I’ve had adventures in places like Greenland and Norway, but it’s here, out in the quiet and wild, where I feel the most myself.

    I’m looking for volunteers who love nature and want to experience life in Lapland. You’ll help me build a place that’s all about getting close to nature and enjoying the simple things – like a night sky full of stars.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The sleddogs are incredible companions that can teach us a lot about communication and emotional connection, but it’s up to you to embrace these lessons.

    This experience is what you make of it—there’s room for physical and mental growth, enhanced mindfulness, and a stronger connection with nature, all depending on your openness and engagement with the environment and our way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for helping hands with a love for dogs and the great outdoors. Or general camp routines-- shoveling snow in winter, preparing firewood and preparing meals. In summer we are more crowded-- a lot of adventurers coming from all over the world to hike Kungsleden trail.
    I'm also very into art and diy projects -- share your ideas, and let's embark on projects that inspire us, fostering a space for co-creation and artistic expression.
    Flexibility is key here, and I'm all for mutual agreements that work for everyone. However, open and honest communication is essential.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cozy and Communal. You’ll have a private room with all the basic necessities. Our living quarters are quite intimate, so while you’ll have your own space, our lives will naturally intertwine. Good communication is crucial to respect each other's privacy and ensure we can provide personal space when needed.

    Meals are a shared affair. While it’s not mandatory to cook and eat together, it’s a practice that simplifies life and helps build team spirit and understanding.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Be mindful that our village is small and quite isolated, with the nearest shop 120 km away. This setting isn't for everyone, but if you cherish tranquility and can embrace simplicity, it might just be the perfect retreat.
    On your days off, you’re free to explore this winter wonderland. Embark on a solo trek, breathe in the stillness of the forest, or if you feel the call of city life, there are Jokkmokk (120 km), Kiruna or Lulea (about 300 km) away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 248244189368

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)





Our big family needs a helping hand at our new farm located in south of Sweden
Help around the house and the garden in Nybro in the heart of Småland, Sweden