Some help with our dogs in the beautiful North East of England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 305 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    976

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Availability in 2020.

    Couple, both retired. Live in a beautiful part of the North East of England in a lovely village but would love some support with a small kennel of large dogs and occasionally puppies. General Housework, Gardening/ landscaping ongoing too! Great opportunity to visit a beautiful part of England, close to Scotland and up in the Pennine Mountains, designated an ‘Area of a Outstanding Beauty’. Our dogs are show and working dogs which is our hobby. The dogs have very good temperaments, but you do need to be strong. Preferably a driver, But not absolutely necessary, car may be available. Perfect if you want to get fit or stay fit! Hiking, biking, walking. Lots of beautiful places to visit and the night life of Newcastle. Although remote, Train lines run direct to Scotland in 2.5 hours and 3 hours into Central London You would have your own bedroom, tv, and bathroom. Non smokers please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love learning about other cultures, food and experiences from our Workawayers. The majority have gone on to become our friends and we stay in touch.

    This area of the North East of England is steeped in history, with many old towns and cities. Durham, York and Newcastle are very special. Edinburgh/Glasgow are close too.

    The North Pennines is one of England’s most special places – a peaceful, unspoilt landscape with a rich history and vibrant natural beauty.

    Tumbling waterfalls, sweeping moorland views, dramatic dales, stone-built villages, snaking stonewalls and friendly faces – the North Pennines has all this and more! The designation of the North Pennines as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty was confirmed in 1988 and at 1983km2, it is the second largest of the AONBs. One of the most remote and unspoilt places in England, it lies between the National Parks of the Yorkshire Dales and Northumberland, with the former West Durham Coalfield to the east and the Eden Valley to the west.

    Durham is a city in northeast England, south of Newcastle upon Tyne. The River Wear loops around the Romanesque Durham Cathedral and Norman Durham Castle. North of the castle, 13th-century, medieval Crook Hall is home to gardens and a maze. South of the river, Durham University offers a Botanic Garden with woodland and tropical plants, and the Oriental Museum exhibiting Asian, Egyptian and Middle Eastern artefacts. Durham is a short drive away and we will take you.

    York is a walled city in northeast England that was founded by the ancient Romans. Its huge 13th-century Gothic cathedral, York Minster, has medieval stained glass and 2 functioning bell towers. The City Walls form a walkway on both sides of the River Ouse. The Monk Bar gate houses an exhibition tracing the life of 15th-century Plantagenet King Richard III.

    We are also a reasonable distance from Scotland. Edinburgh and Glasgow are favourites with our workawayers. Edinburgh is Scotland's compact, hilly capital. It has a medieval Old Town and elegant Georgian New Town with gardens and neoclassical buildings. Looming over the city is Edinburgh Castle, home to Scotland’s crown jewels and the Stone of Destiny, used in the coronation of Scottish rulers. Arthur’s Seat is an imposing peak in Holyrood Park with sweeping views, and Calton Hill is topped with monuments and memorials.

    Glasgow is a port city on the River Clyde in Scotland's western Lowlands. It's famed for its Victorian and art nouveau architecture, a rich legacy of the city's 18th–20th-century prosperity due to trade and shipbuilding. Today it's a national cultural hub, home to institutions including the Scottish Opera, Scottish Ballet and National Theatre of Scotland, as well as acclaimed museums and a thriving music scene.

    The Train Station is close by with direct lines to Scotland York and London. Newcastle is also close and is a very popular student town only 35 minutes away. Lots of countryside activities in our area of outstanding natural beauty. We include our workawayers in our English country life style, and they join us as part of our family. We also cook in a traditional English way, many English favourites, but always aligned to our Workawayer’s taste.

  • Help

    Help

    Would love some help looking after our dogs/ puppies exercising and feeding, grooming and shopping, while we have some holidays and train the dogs. Some light housework, cooking always a nice bonus! Volunteering is not 5 hours straight, but more morning, lunchtime and afternoon, some evenings spaced out and put the dogs to bed in the evening. Plenty of time in between to relax. Gardening and landscaping experience would be nice. Driver preferred, vehicle may be provided. Experience with large friendly dogs needed. Only one person required, needs to be self sufficient and clean around the house. Duration Negotiable.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House in the countryside near Newcastle England. Personal bedroom with own bathroom and private TV set. Full WiFi. Non smokers only.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cycle available and local car rental is very reasonable!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only one dog and it has to be able to get on with ours in a trial.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, spread out over the day, lots of time to relax, 5 days a week

Fizz our latest addition to the family!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 243774631421