Family in Brittany looking for help with our land and animals, France

Country

France

Favourited 163 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    128

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5
    3 children 15, 23 and 25 .We live in Brittany and have 9 hectares which supports sheep, horses, poultry a cow, pigs and have numerous cats, dogs and ferrets.

    We have lived here since 2005 and have renovated our house from a ruin.

    We have a 3 bedroom bungalow for accommodation and meals will be supplied in the main house .We are looking for people who have an empathy towards animals as ours are very special to us.

    On the property are 3.carp lakes 2 duck ponds and wallow for the pigs

    The area we live in is 1 km from medreac village, 8 km to the nearest big town, and 35,minutes by car from the capital Rennes
    Ideally we are looking for people who are prepared to muck in ,the jobs will be varied some will be interesting others not so but are necessary.
    You must be prepared to muck in and will be expected to help at meal times.
    We try and take you out visiting local sites if you arrive with no transport.
    We don't work as a Monday to Friday workplace every day varies and can depend on the weather!
    As we are an English family our main language spoken is English but the children speak French and we have many French visitors who are quite happy to let you practice French with them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many aspects of smallholder tasks, possibly lambing at certain time of year.
    Various building work, demolition and rebuilding.
    Cultural french living and integrating with local french.
    Possibly learn to communicate in french as the children are fluent in french, english spoken mainly

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who are interested in turning their hand to anything. . Fencing the perimeter of the land, banging posts and attaching stock fencing. There is the possibility to ride or just care for a large number of animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bed bungalow

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service available in the village and a train station 8 kms away, lifts can be given.
    It is a peaceful,rural area but the beaches are 40 mins away and the beautiful cities of St Malo and Rennes are about 40 mins away.
    We are happy for the volunteers to just muck in with our family life and to enjoy the slower pace of rural France

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 242334968965