Come and learn new skills in central Brittany restoring an old cob (straw and earth) cottage on 2 acres, France

Country

France

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/12/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a friendly English couple in our 60's living in central Brittany restoring an old cob (straw and earth) cottage on 2 acres. We have skills in making cob, lime putty and how to use them in a sympathetic renovation and would be pleased to pass these on to anyone wishing to build their own earth house or are just interested . We also spend time tending our vegetable garden and generally trying to have fun. Clive a has a home studio where he records his own songs or collaborations globally. Our abilities also extend to plumbing, wiring, and general building. We live in a rural area near a village with a bar. We speak French and English. I believe the norm for the amount of work required from a workawayer is 25 hours per week which is fine ..... we are flexible about the hours WE work due I expect to our age. We certainly would not expect anyone to do more work than we do ourselves

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are not looking for labourers, but apprentices that will learn hands on with supervision and come out with the know-how to apply these new abilities in their own lives. Obviously tradespeople that know everything are not excluded We speak English and French

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help with installing a range with a back boiler, making cob blocks, rendering walls with lime mortar, making lime putty, and all the other almost forgotten skills .We have a small stone retaining wall to be built by any potential masons. ( not the free sort) A lot of these need physical strength but not all. The vegetable garden always needs attention if you prefer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation will be basic, Ie a bed in the grenier (attic) and of course food

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our first ad here......seems like a great idea. As long as both parties come away satisfied that the deal is fair, its perfect. We are very easy going 5 hours a day 5 days a week seems to be the norm .We really would prefer people with their own transport because if they want to visit places, we only have a small van and don't have the time to be tour guides. We can however pick people up and drop them off to stations or airports if they are the sort of person that is happy to not to have to go too far afield. That being said we go shopping and love boot sales on a Sunday. The local village has a bar and we have a couple of bikes . There is a local disused railway track for cycling that goes for miles. We have French and English friends locally

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 235728993955