Volunteer and share great experiences with our professional horsemanship team in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 309 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We operate a smaller horse breeding/training facility located a 25 minute drive outside of the city of Edmonton, in the heart of the Alberta horse country. We have generally about 30 horses on our property, with 2 foals already on the ground, and 3 mares still due to foal in June. Our summers generally consist of everything horse related, Foaling and breeding, horse shows multiple time a month, general care (routine medical procedures, farrier work), Advertising and sale of both pleasure and show horses and pretty much everything else horse related you can think of.

    We offer a different view on horsemanship than most, and our resident trainer (Brandi) receives horses in for training ranging from colt starting, to problem solving, with horses intended to be shown added to keep things interesting. Our foal crops range from 3-5 foals a year, to allow us the time to get extra handling in with our foals. We stand our own stallion, so we accept outside mares for breeding as well. During the summer, we are generally off to horse shows offered by a variety of associations. Our trainers primary focus (especially on private stock) is stock horse all around events, but have trained and shown numerous varieties of breeds.

    This workaway opportunity is perfect for someone looking to learn more about everything horse related and who want to better their horsemanship in and out of the saddle. We are looking for someone who understands and has experience dealing with the less fun side of horses, knowing that horses require good feed, waste management, water and sometimes even supplements (possibly even an entirely customized diet).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Volunteer would include equine chores/regular basic care, fence building/repairing, possible assistance for horse shows and possible assistance during foaling season (night checks)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room and Board, Bedroom with; bed, closet, dresser/mirror, lamp, chair.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are pretty down to earth, easy going people. We love our animals greatly, and that is a main focus in our lives. We don't cut corners and do our best to give 100% to everything we do. This is because we know going that extra bit can really make all of the difference. We are a typical farm, so our own families lives are fairly busy (with long hours most days for us), but we all try to pitch in to help each other out.

    The potential to ride horses or assist the trainer is there for the right individuals. This person would ideally be soft handed but confident and willing to learn, but must have some form of equine experience. Riding opportunities are available only for the right individuals - if lessons are needed then extra exchanges will need to be decided on. All riding would be done outside of the 5 hours/5days a week in exchange for room and board - this may make for primarily evening/weekend riding. We do not run a cowboy outfit here, so possessing the virtue of patience with animals will be key.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 234914264813