Help us with our ecological agriculture and tourism project in a beautiful spot in the Sicilian countryside

Country

Italy

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    957

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello we are Lilly and Aron! We run our ecological agriculture and tourism project in a beautiful spot in the Sicilian countryside. We are about 4 km away from the town of Grammichele, which is unique because it is one of the very few in the world with a perfectly hexagonal layout and piazza. Caltagirone is also near (15km) which is not so often visited by tourists like Catania or Palermo, but it is very beautiful and has a lot to offer like traditional architecture, bars and restaurants. The ruins of Occhiolà (it was destroyed by an earthquake in 1693, the survivors found the city of Grammichele) are just a few steps away.We are working on the playground to host the children and do educational workshops.we need creative people to help us build seating benches and more for the playground with recycled materials. We have a small fruit and vegetable shop and local produce so we often need help in the countryside to fix the garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn more about ecological farming and gardening (bio-dynamic principles), especially about citrus fruits (how to cut the orange trees and the organic manuring). We recycle a lot and you can learn more ways to do this and save water and resources.

  • Help

    Help

    the collection time for the Sicilian hemp plantation begins for us. we need people willing, fast and attentive.urgent help is needed
    For now the main work is to finish our house, so we need people who know about carpentery, brickwalling, electricity etc etc. Besides that we need help with our vegetable patch, the garden and the animals (chicken, a horse, goats, rabbits). The property is about 30 ha. In the future we want to host also tourists with small children, so we want to prepare the place for them (playground etc).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, little english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room in a big house (kitchen is shared). In summertime you can also put your tent in the garden if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If it possible, please contact us in Italian, otherwise it will take maybe a while asking some friend to translate ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

ARON & EBRON



Host ref number: 223569442947