German family in need of a native English speaker and help in the garden. Werder, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings travellers!

    We are a four-headed family, constisting of two girls: Anika (15), Pauline (17) the family man: Frank (59) and me: Carola (52). We are living in a small village near the town Werder (Havel). By driving it is 30 min to Potsdam and 1 hour to Berlin. The area we live in, is characterized by lovely calmness and beautiful nature.
    We have a quite big property with a little garden, where we harvest some fruits and vegetables. In the past couple of years we tried to transform our property into a little farm to be more independent. Therefore we have some chickens and rabbits on our ground. That why there is allways something to do.
    We also have a lovely cat named Susi, which is considered as a family member :)
    Additionally there is a holiday home, where we have some guests from time to time aswell as a swimming pool, where you can relax on hot days.

    This is our second experience with workaway and being a host. It is a great idea to get to know new people from other countries and cultures. Last year we had a student from America. We are especially interested to speak better english and more fluently. We think the concept of workaway is just perfect to realise our plans.
    Thats why we are looking for somebody to teach us the language with empathy for our english deficit.
    Also we want to realize little projects in the garden.

    We are happy to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested in learning german, we are willing to teach you in return. You also have the chance to get to know the life of an german family in a cute village. More over you can enjoy the calm area but also visit some big cities like Potsdam and Berlin.

  • Help

    Help

    You should have basic crafting skills and do not shy away from getting dirty hands.
    We think about working in the morning for like 4 hours in the garden or with some ongoing projects for example painting a fence or setting some stones.
    Additionally it would be nice, if you could spare some time to have a english talk with our girls, if they are coming home from school. Thats why it wild be nicke, if you be cool with teenagers. We especially care about increasing our doughters and my owns english skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German and little English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in a room in our house and use a bathroom for guests. Of course there will be meals all the time provided by us. We would like you to eat with us, but if you are hungry in between you can enjoy a snack.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are interested in visiting Potsdam or Berlin, we can take you to the next train station and pick you up later.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 222932123159