Explore and help develop our mountainside farm in Karnataka, India

Country

India

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Indian-Anglo couple who live between Bangalore and Kodaikanal. We have a farm on the side of a mountain and are looking for some people to stay, and help us develop it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will interact with us, a British and Keralite couple, as well as local people and travellers staying at the nearby eco resort. Kodaikanal is a fascinating place, full of biodiversity and invasive species, so anyone interested in farming, mountainous spaces, and the environment will love it.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to set up an irrigation system in December 2020, and beyond that, help is required for general planting, setting up a kitchen garden and potentially beginning to cement the traditional mud house that we have.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Intermediate
    Tamil: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom in a mud house, access to a kitchen, and an outside Indian-style toilet. Tents could also be an option: not permanently, but on occasion. For both, bedding and mats would be provided, along with the tents themselves which we have in 2 and 4 man sizes. Food can be provided, or self-catered depending on volunteer taste. We eat well - anything from rice and dal to cheesy omelettes and fire-roasted chicken and potatoes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are remote, but have a 4G connection. Volunteers will be able to work remotely, if they wish to, and visit nearby farms and eco-resorts. There are forests, a sunrise point and a waterfall for swimming in, all within 25 minutes walk and the town of Kodaikanal is a 45 minute drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a 4G connection on the mountain via a dongle.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are fine, provided they aren't aggressive, as we have a male dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 218569774934