Join us on our smallholding and help us with our permaculture projects in rural Brittany, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jill & Paul. Our home is situated in a picturesque agricultural countryside setting in southern Brittany, 10 minutes from Guémené-sur-Scorff and 40 minutes from an amazing coastline. We are currently renovating the properties we own and actively developing a permaculture based smallholding and garden. We try to live as self sufficiently as possible by raising goats, sheep, ducks and chickens and growing our own fruit and vegetables.

    We also have 2 dogs and 2 cats, so you must be an animal lover.

    We are originally from the UK. We bought our smallholding in rural southern Brittany in 2017 as we looked forward to an early retirement. In 2018 we finally finished running our artisan bakery business and moved permanently to this beautiful part of northern France.

    Jill - after a career in finance I trained as a cheese maker and butcher at The School of Artisan Food near Nottingham and it is here that I gained my bakery skills from fellow students. I am also an enthusiastic and adventurous cook keen to pass on my skills as well as learn from others. I am a member of a felting, weaving and dyers guild here in Brittany, and I produce wool from our own sheep to spin, knit, crochet and weave. I am also a keen gardener, help with the DIY, love to sew, and having gained my Permaculture Certificate, continue to study for a Diploma in Applied Permaculture Design.

    Paul - I retired early to move to France after running the Artisan bakery with Jill gaining skills as a bread baker. I describe myself as a handyman and keen home brewer. I play the guitar, mandolin and love to write songs, it would be great to have an afternoon/evening making music if this is your hobby. I have recently rekindled my love of art and painting and would like to progress further with this if only I had the time.

    We are very active members of a local community association. A group of like minded people that get together for socials and help each other with projects. It is based around a sustainable and regenerative life style and encourages inclusion and sharing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience the life of a smallholder in the french countryside. We will teach you some of the things we have learnt from a permaculture perspective. Learn how to bake your daily bread, how to grow your own food and how to make the most of the harvest. Bring your guitar with you and play along around a campfire. Have a go with paint and canvas. Learn to knit or crochet.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with animal care includes routine feeding, cleaning animal areas, moving animals, setting up new enclosures, or building new shelters. We have sheep, goats, ducks and chickens.
    We grow as much of our own fruit and veg as we can, so help with propagation of seeds, planting out, weeding, harvesting and processing is useful and depends on the time of year you are with us.
    We are also carrying out a number of renovation projects - from a complete refit in our little cottage to painting our caravan……..and everything in between……..never a dull moment.
    We also have ambitions of more permaculture projects such as our re wilding area, compost loo, viewing platform and potting shed.
    Mowing, hedge trimming, wood cutting and stacking, general garden maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be a fully equipped two berth renovated caravan that is situated in our garden, close to the main house. It has a fridge, heater, double bed, shower, toilet, kitchenette and outside cooking/seating/dining area (dependent on the weather). We do ask all workaways to not smoke in the caravan and to be mindful that we are not smokers ourselves. We also ask that the accommodation is left clean and tidy.

    We will stock your caravan with groceries that will enable you to prepare your own breakfast and evening meal, and you can pick fruit and vegetables from our potager and orchard. We will prepare you a light lunch in the middle of the working day where we can chat about projects and ideas, and generally put the world to rights.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a peaceful part of Brittany, just 40 minutes from stunning coastline. Unfortunately, as we are quite rural there is no public transport direct from our property. Our nearest bakery, restaurant and bar are 6km away, nearest grocery store is 8km away and the nearest town is 10km. We are also a short drive away from the towns of Pontivy, Quimperle, and the city of Lorient (a centre for Celtic cultural events). There is a lake nearby at Priziac that provides opportunities in the summer for swimming and water based activities. There are attractive sites within easy reach e.g. The Valley of the Saints and Mur de Bretagne.

    We have bicycles available on site and there are walks locally. You are welcome to join us on our trips to nearby towns and amenities.

    For your arrival and departure - we are happy to collect/return you from/to nearby bus stops or train stations but would ask that you get as near to us as you can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day with 1 day and 1 afternoon free to explore.



Host ref number: 214739414844