Join our family living in an old farmhouse in Cubjac-Auvézère-Val d'Ans, Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 living in South-Central France in an old farmhouse (18th-19th century) that we are restoring. It is basically situated in the middle of oak-chestnut forest with some flower-rich calcareous grasslands, a few km from a small village (500 inhabitants) and 20 km from a midsized picturesque town (30000 inh.). For the past 25 years we were living in Africa working in ecological research. Post the COVID confinement the rest of the family went back to Africa for work and school, so me, the dad am on my own now.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am fluent in English and french and have a decent mastery of a number of other languages and a million stories to tell on decades of ecological experience in developing countries (mainly in Africa) and a good mastery of the local biodiversity.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is lots to do in, on and around the house but priorities would be to prepare it for interventions by qualified artisans (moving the firewood, furniture, books, clothes, etc. into storage) while doing as much as possible ourselves, all with eco-responsible materials such as lime, hemp, mortar, natural calcareous stone (loads of those on the property – for example to build the walls of the gate), wood, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 6m diameter comfortable well-isolated yurt at the edge of the forest 40 m from the main house that can be heated. Dry toilets just close. Bathroom in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There isn't much public transport here but many interesting painted caves, chateaux and beauty spots can be reached e.g. by bike (radius of 30 km)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent Wi-Fi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Loads of space but very little of it is flat so you will need to level

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 214724172329