Work away at our lovely home and gardens in Fairbanks, Alaska

Country

United States

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living in Alaska with our cat Sweet Pea. We enjoy our home and garden and are outside more than in during the summer months. We enjoy hiking, camping and tackling projects and always have some sort of art project in the works. We are also avid rock hounds and collectors of different kinds of rocks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Fairbanks has a university so there are lots of culture opportunities to experience lectures, music and mini classes. There is also lots of hiking, plus you can enjoy several wonderful walks right from the house. If you are here during the winter, you just might see the Northern Lights. Snowshoeing is also a great winter activity.

  • Help

    Help

    What we are looking for varies according to the season. April and May involves spring cleaning inside the house and beginning work in the greenhouse and garden. By June, planting is in full swing and weeds are beginning to need tackling. July requires lots of watering and more weeding along with starting to cook and put away some of the earlier crops. In August we are heavy into harvesting and putting up the bounty of fresh garden veggies. In September and October, we are putting the garden to bed, cleaning projects inside and continuing to prepare foods for freezing or canning. Our main focus in January and February is for someone that would like a quiet winter retreat while taking care of our house and feeding and playing with our cat, SweetPea. This Jan. Feb. time could be perfect for finishing that book you've been writing! Also a great opportunity to try for the perfect shot of the Northern Lights or maybe just enjoying some snowshoeing through the woods.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and limited Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The downstairs bedroom has two single beds for workawayers and a bathroom. There are good quality ingredients for you to prepare your food as you like. Please bring a few of your favorite recipes and share in cooking the evening meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On time off in the spring and summer you could hike, camp or ride the Alaska railroad to see more of Alaska. We have bikes available for your use and you can also ride the bus around town for other activities. We live six miles from the bus stop but can drop you at the stop or, if we are on our way to town, we will be glad to take you into town, from there you can ride a bus ti various destinations for a full day of experiencing Fairbanks.
    We have snowshoes for our winter workawayers and of course the Northern Lights are a huge attraction. There is also a car for limited use during Jan. and Feb. if you have an international or US driver's license with you.
    There is always lots to do in Fairbanks and a lot of music and art to enjoy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)



























Host ref number: 195354477869