Malbosc, help restoring an old ‘domain’ in the hills of the Cévennes, France

  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple, living in an old house in a beautiful part of France - the southern end of the Massif Central.
    Claude enjoys restoring the house having been a builder during his working life. I work on the garden growing vegetables organically and trying to design and install a flower garden around the house.

    We are surrounded by beautiful countryside in the Haut Languedoc Régional Parc with many walks and cycle tracks directly from the house. We have 27h of land, some of it pasture, some of it marshy but all of which is managed with improving biodiversity in mind. The whole place is extremely tranquil.

    I enjoy yoga, walking, textile art, socialising, reading and generally being active. Claude is interested in history and reads a lot about local history.

    We eat a mixed diet, many vegetarian meals, but occasional meat, grown or shot locally. (We are not hunters but occasionally get given wild boar or venison.)

    We live in a small house adjacent to the large house for which we’re searching a purpose. It offers great accommodation for workawayers 😀. This year we have a group running a course for sustainable forest management during March and a group of artists setting up an ambulant exhibition for August. There’s always something interesting going on here!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English and French fluently. There will be regular events at the local chateau which we will be helping to organise (theatre, music, dance etc). There are other activities locally which volunteers could join like the local walking group (half day once a week).
    We shop at the local market and have regular contact with neighbours who represent the many faces of French life.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome people who would be willing to help in the garden. Of course, we will be sharing the garden produce with volunteers.
    Depending on level of skill, help with the renovation would be welcomed. This project is varied due to the nature of the buildings. There is a house and also numerous agricultural buildings in various states of disrepair. Examples of help might be helping to install a new fireplace in the main house and a wood burning stove; decorating; insulating ceilings; helping construct a conservatory around a small house adjacent to the main one; helping to replace the rooves on the old chicken houses

    If anyone liked cooking they could share this task.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am learning French whereas my husband is a French national. We are both happy to help people wishing to learn either French or English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in the main house. Shared bathroom depending on who else is around.
    Food will be provided and volunteers can choose to either eat with us or cook independently. Or a mixture

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house stands alone, our nearest neighbour being about a kilometre away. There is no public transport past the house but a good bus system from the local village (10km away) and town (15Km away). Depending on the interest of a volunteer we could facilitate getting there and back. We have bikes which can be borrowed and there are many lovely walks around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have had two people working exclusively on line, holding meetings, downloading etc with no problem. The wifi extends through the house so there are several rooms where people could work either individually or with others

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are several places around the house where volunteers could park, giving more or less privacy and different views.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    There are two large dogs here which can be noisy when people arrive but are friendly. The younger one always wants to play with guest dogs. Cats would be difficult.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 185863823926

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)