Help needed at small farm with horses and dogs in north Norway ,Finnmark



Favourited 328 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are located in Vestre Jakobselv, 20 kilometres outside Vadsø, Norway , Finnmark.

    You find our small farm in the far northeast of Norway, above the Arctic circle. Here we have 6 horses, 3 dogs and 1 cat.

    The activities during the week includes taking care of the horses, grooming, feeding and riding, and help with everyday chores around the farm, such as light housework and gardening. We have started up a small greenhouse for growing flowers ,vegetables, and during the summer season this will be our main Activity alongside the horses.

    In addition to this, the farm has weekly visits (mondays) of handicapped people who come here for therapy horseriding and twice a week a group of demented, elderly people will join us for a light meal and talks around the table in the litle house. (mondays and thursdays)

    We need help with all of these chores. Our volunteers becomes a part of our family, but there is also room for personal space as you are given Your own little house.

    Me and my foster daughter at 16 year old are living at the farm. I also have two kids at 22 and 25 years old, Thomas and Mia, that also comes to visit a lot.

    In addition to the farm I am the owner of a fashion store. Together there are 5 stores in Vardø, Vadsø, Tana and Kirkenes. And a new one in Alta in June. I spend most of my time during the day working in the stores, so you will have the responsibility for the animals at this time. During the summer period of the middle of june to the end of september the horses are mostly out all night and days at the Fields.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is on the Varanger Peninsula, which is mainly national park; great for hiking. More specifically, we are situated immediately in front of one of Northern Norways best skitrails (Tana-Varanger), and there are excellent opportunities for fishing (especially salmon fishing) in a river within walking distance - also you will have to buy a fishing permit. Of course you will also be able to ride our horses.

    While we hope you know a bit about horses in advance, there is of course much room for you to learn more about horses and gardening - aside from learning the culture of Northern Norway - and it's cuisine, if you choose to have dinner with us.

  • Help


    In an average day, you will take out the horses in the morning, feed them and clean some of the boxes (we have 4 horses and 3 ponies in 6 boxes) and take turns with others to bring them in on the evenings. Twice weekly you will help with the elderly and handicapped who come here and also help care for the plants, though this is very small-scale.
    Also every Friday help cleaning the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, english

  • Accommodation


    The lodgings are a small house/cottage - next to our main house - with open plan kitchen/livingroom, bath, and two small bedrooms; perfect for a couple to stay. Breakfast/lunch will usually be had in your own lodgings, but you can choose to have dinner with us each night or cook your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses coming through our small town multiple times a day, but often you will be able to borrow cars from the farm as you please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The open Kitchen in the accommodation/small cottage
The small cottage living room
My to shetties Kikki and Joy
My horse Spirit ! Norwegian fjording
Inside the main house
outside during the winther
The lodgings/small cottage
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 178595183384