Helping on our small farm in a remote Highland glen, near Cannich in the Glen Affric Nature reserve, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 342 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    679

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are a family living on a small farm in a remote highland glen, we keep a couple of cows for milk, butter and cheese, some sheep and sometimes some pigs, we have chickens and ducks.
    we have a large plot that we are turning into a vegetable garden and hoping to get our new polytunnel up and producing this year. for financial income we run a horse riding and pony trekking centre where we guide visitors up into the mountains on horseback, we also do horseback camping trips.
    we are looking for help to carry out maintenance and the building of the poly tunnel and various other projects we have ongoing, we also would like a hand each day bringing in the horses for treks and with grooming etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have many things to teach here depending on what the interests of the travellers are, we will be gardening and working with horses cutting and stacking wood, general maintenance of fences and buildings and spending time around our outside fire pit talking and exchanging stories etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a responsible person or couple to look after our farm for one week at the beginning of July , we would like them to come up for a week at the end of June to get to know there way around and when we are away they would have to check and count the horses sheep etc and phone us to let us know how things are, we will only be a few hours drive away so could come back if there where any problems, please get in touch if you think you may be able to help with this Thanks Iain.
    This was for summer 2018, its now coming into September 2018, the help for our holiday was carried out by an excellent volunteer who helped us have an excellent break, we are now looking for someone who might be able to help again next year.


    we are looking for folk to help us get the farm ready for the coming season, with painting fences and buildings etc, maybe some grass cutting and raking, with taking horses in from the field and grooming them ready for the days treks .
    we would prefer a person or two friends who would like to stay for longer periods and who could possibly farm sit for us so we can go for our family holiday to the coast.

    Again its now coming into September so the type of work we are doing now is changing with the season, we will be gathering firewood, splitting it and storing it away to season for next year, maintenance of fences, both post and rail and wire types, a bit of barn maintenance and also the usual horse work, getting them in for treks and grooming etc but not as busy as in the summer.

    we also need to build another building to accommodate volunteers, and a shower room for helpers, we have the shower just no building to accomadate it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The visitors have there own self contained cabin a few hundred meters away from the family home and the farm buildings etc.
    The cabin is quite compact but has a bottled gas cooker and water heater and a wood burning stove for heat and drying clothes and boots, the beds in the cabin are bunk beds and sleep two people, if we have more than two folk staying they would stay in a caravan next door to the cabin.
    Visitors can share lunch and dinner with our family and spend time in the evening with us in the family house if they wish, they can have breakfast, Tea and Coffee in the cabin.
    We have no mains electric and the generator is only on in the evening, mobile phone signal can only be got by walking up a hill so something to do in the evening maybe..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is very beautiful and fairly remote so getting to the village or shop etc is not very easy but we can always pick up and drop of folk if we are going anyway and also collect messages, ideal for people who like a bit of solitude and who might like to walk in the woods and climb some of the mountains for the amazing views.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 173116563544