A remote piece of paradise at the foot of the Rockies, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    751

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live alone with my 21 year old daughter who has Down Syndrome, although recently my friend has been spending more time here with us. Our house is a big log home on 23 acres in a very remote rural area. The nearest town is 120 km away, our village only has 15 people. So people out here have to be very good at structuring their own free time. There is a beautiful mountain to climb, a river and lakes to canoe and fish, and vast expanses of wilderness to explore but no ready-made city entertainment!!

    My daughter has been attending a college program for young adults with disabilities and needs a 1-1 aide during the semester. The program only runs 2-3 days a week but for this time there is an apartment in town. This means traveling back and forth between our farm and the city. A drivers license is essential for this! This is a separate job, it would either be taking care of my daughter or helping out on the farm.

    During the summer there is a lot of garden work to do, mowing the lawn and weeding the vegetable beds. In the winter there is endless snow to shovel and plow. I am starting to build fences for animals and need a lot of help.

    i have internet connection out on the farm but it is satellite and limited.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This tiny village has a strong social life, connecting to all the other tiny villages along the east line. There are pot lucks, group hikes, card game evenings, and many other activities depending on the time of year.

  • Help

    Help

    Absolutely no smoking in the house or the vehicles. My daughter has a heart condition and asthma, I make no exceptions to this rule.

    Other than that I am happy to accommodate any extra wishes, for instance type of food etc.

    I would be happy to take couples or friends traveling together, it tends to make the loneliness out here easier to cope with. People traveling with children are also very welcome!!

    The work varies in amount and content from one day to the next, weather is a big factor. Flexibility is a huge asset!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a guest room with 2 double beds and an additional bed for a girl in my daughters room as well as a couch for extras. There are additional tents during the summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a beautiful mountain to climb, i have snow shoes here for winter expeditions. The river is great for canoeing and fishing. There is a lake in hiking distance. When outside activities are reduced due to the weather i have a huge library and games and puzzles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    very flexible, some days more and some days less. (max 25 hours)




Host ref number: 167175533577