Helping a small family in St.Gall City center Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 520 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    189

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Grüezi to you,

    we are a young couple of a jurist with german & swiss tax expert degree and a pastry chef - living and working as far in this beautiful town.

    We own a flat in St.Gallen Citycenter. Now I am a stay-at-home-mom with a baby boy in the age of 2.5 and a little girl in the age of 1.

    We used to travel a lot and are very interested in languages and to get to know people all over the world. For our trips we never used workaway, but came to it through a workaway staying at the same place in the states 2006.

    As we were students too and know about "the scarcity of money" during this time - we want to give students etc. the chance to discover the world on a affordable way. This is our main concern to you.

    We do not want to have you helping all the time, we prefer to have very independent and self-sufficient guests - if you are very independant, love being by your own and uncomplicated;) we would love to have you.

    Your help will be concentrated on housekeeping, cooking or gardening.

    I prefer to offer you the opportunity to chose between some workingtime schedules. I think it works better for both sides because you can choose a bit your preferences and I have a better understanding what you "like" to do.

    (Gardening isn't possible during the months of November until February).

    Besides of the "main works" there will be the "obvious things" to do as put the dishes into diswasher after meal or empty it, clean your "own toilet",...as it will be surely normal in your family too.

    1. doing the cooking and kitchen:
    it means you cook lunch for 11:30, dinner for 6 p.m including cleaning;). I calculate about 1-2 hours per meal - you plan your day however you want, but planing the meals on this times would be perfect. Baby Boy & girl will be happy about it;)

    2. housekeeping (& time babysitting)
    you do housekeeping whenever you want for about 2 hours a day. (to vacuum, cleaning windows, wipe the floor, cleaning the bath, help in smaller other works, ....). The best time would be the morning. You can also clean/work more on one day so you have more freetime the other....and sometimes if Babies wants to - keeping them busy;).

    3. gardening:
    we have a little spot of green close to our flat (15minutes by bicycle). I want to redo some parts of it and can need help doing it.
    In spring I set plants and vegetables, saw radishes, carottes.....We also want to build a little "play Paradise" for our children we can need help too.
    So we go up there together sometimes or you can also go by yourself and do some weeding or grubing;) up there.
    BEAUTIFUL view to the Appenzell- Hills, Lake Constance, and our Hous-Mountain:)

    ....If you don't mind to much - it could also be a mixt of everything of those works.

    If you go for a trip for longer- it wont be a problem, we'll reorganise the workplan - they only give a clue.

    Jan and I are living in St. Gallen Citycenter. So you have buses every 5 minutes to central train station. We have nice places to discover as St.Gall City with World UNESCO heritage of the European oldest Library, Appenzell, Lake of Constanze and Constanz Town, Zurich...

    St.Gall itself has Libraries, Ludothek, 3 famous ponds, cinemas, walking ways, hiking traks, alpine animals Park, gourmet Restaurants, chees factory, BREWERY with bottle museum!!!! (best of Switzerland - for sure the oldest of it), endless shooping possibilities with all the famous brands of Switzerland as Victorinox, Omega, Rolex, IWC, ....

    For your first mail: please give me exact informations about: you, your time period of travel (please in mail title - so I can better check availability in my agenda), who you are (profession), citizenship, and expectations already in your first mail- so I can already give you a clear answer.

    Greetings, Sarah and Jan

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    - cleaning the house
    - cooking
    - woodwork outside
    - gardening
    - housework
    - ironing
    -......

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, swiss german, french, latin:)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A big room with own shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - we want to ask you for a copy of your passeport, just during your vistit. We'll give you certainly back when you'll leave.

    - you are welcome to join our family but be aware that there wont be big party in our house evenings;) Usualy I only read...a bit and go to bed. So have plans for your evenings;)

    -our Babyies go to bed (starting procedere) at 7:00 p.m. from this time we have to bee more or less silent.

    - it would be great if you have the possibility not to arrive later than 10pm. When you're here, I usually show you around and leave you alone;) so you can acclimatize.

    - We plan about 3 h per day, 15 hours a week.

    - For entertainment we offer: Internet access, Babies and books;)

    - It would be nice if you cook once a specific/ typical food of your region/country (we made very good experience with that;)).

    - We offer you the room and food (and using everything else in the house). But it may be, that we are somewhere else, and do not cook, so you have to take care of yourself as well if you go for a trip - just help yourself.
    Sometimes the refrigerator is better filled and sometimes he suffers a bit of vacancy. But always (even if it is the last of our chocolate yoghurt) you TAKE it:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day






Host ref number: 16157539814c